We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes we enjoyed staying at harveys point so much that we plan a fourth visit later in 2011”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yes we enjoyed staying at harveys point so much that we plan a fourth visit later in 2011”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is located adjacent to a lake and amidst quiet forested countryside. Delightful country walks abound.Nearby championship style golf course at Murvagh,County Donegal .Management is Swiss - Irish, and Staffs are well trained, efficient and friendly. The rooms and suites are magnificent size. The food ranks among the very best cuisine available in any top hotel in Ireland..All around the surrounding county of Donegal offers unrivalled scenery, and a landscape that confirms to the traveller that she or he is now in an area thats the last fringe of europe facing out to the Atlantic ocean and North America beyond.In July through some months, an international style cabaret show is provided , at a charge, each Wednesdaay evening . This is a really charming hotel, and we usually stay a minimum three nights.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in one of several available suites. ask for lake view as these are altogether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamonfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Eamon, Many thanks for your super review of Harvey’s Point both as a destination and as a base for exploring the beautiful county of Donegal. Our guest feedback indicates that a three night break is ideal for relaxing, touring and of course availing of the high quality entertainment that is on offer each Wednesday at our famous Dinner Cabaret. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year and thank you for your continued loyalty. Kind regards from everyone at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
662
2,506
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. THe rooms are large with terrific bathrooms.The beds are very comfortable and the staff give A1 service. The down side was a nail clipping in the bed and hairs in the bath. The place was alittle tired and shabby in places and the evening meal in the restaurant was not worth 59 Euro per person

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We appreciate all guest feedback and indeed I was glad to have the opportunity to listen to your valuable comments prior to your departure. Please be assured that I have taken corrective action with our housekeeping department for this most unusual drop in our standards of cleaning. We have an ongoing maintenance plan to keep all areas of the hotel fresh and our new a’la Carte Wine Bar menu is always available as an affordable but high quality dining option. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The room was like a luxury apartment, it was incredible, staff were amazing, food was incredible!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. Regards from Deirdre, Marc and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at Harvey's Point for our friends' daughter's wedding. The whole experience was absolutely fabulous. The reception, the food the service, the staff we could not fault. We booked the deluxe room - wow! fantastic and due to the late night we ordered breakfast in our room. It was amazing - no such thing as a little tray delivered to your room. It was breakfast on a trolley wheeled in and the set out on a table by the waiter, exquisite. exactly what I would expect and have received in top class hotels in the world. Harvey's Point is an exciting and wonderful experience, the only way I can describe it, is having your own staff wait on you. All the staff greet you no matter where or when in the hotel you meet them, it is as if they know you - so fabulously welcoming. we will be back very soon without a doubt. The personal touch is wonderful, we felt very special there even though there were hundreds of other guests it didnt feel like it as the service was 2nd to none. Well done all at Harvey's Point. T & V

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlaith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear T & V,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at Harvey’s Point and I am delighted that you felt so welcomed and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime for a relaxing leisure break. Kind regards from all at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel's setting was wonderful, with a lovely view from the room, and walks around the lough. The bedrooms and ensuites are luxurious, and thought has gone into providing extra touches, such as fruit on arrival. The hotel's relaxing, welcoming atmosphere and fantastic food which starts with breakfast made this a wonderful place to stay. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The executive rooms overlooking the lough have the best views, and are proabably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Rosemary, Thank you so much for your lovely words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just back from 2 night Midweek Break with Cabaret, and can't wait to go back...Best Food, Entertainment, and Acccomodation I've found in Donegal, not to mention the most helpful and friendly Staff too. The Cabaret acts where all First Class as promised and the Gourmet Dinner was delicious, we really did over indulge, ha ha but this is what staying at Harvey's is all about, where else will you be offered Baileys to pour on your porridge and then Grand Mariner to pour over your pancakes, best breakfast buffet I've ever enjoyed, probably put a few pounds on, but I'll blame that on Chris the Chef lol Anyway, our 'spotless' Executive Bedroom was so big I could easily have walked the few pounds gained right off again, just by crossing the room, but unfortunately I stopped to eat the complimentary Irish chocolates left by the Housekeeping Staff on both days ! ! ! Bliss......Kate

Room Tip: book an Executive Room if poss, worth an extra few Euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Kate, Thank you for such a lovely review of your ‘Heavenly Experience at Harvey’s’!. You are always welcome!. Chris has kindly offered to accompany you on some of the wonderful walks around Lough Eske in return for plying you with so much fine food! All the best from everyone at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at Harveys Point while attending a wedding in Donegal.

The rooms are huge with beds that seemed larger than a standard King and huge bathrooms. We also had a gorgeous lake view. The rooms are also Very nicely appointed in a classic style.

We ordered room service twice - I had the best steak I have had in a long time. Breakfast was fantastic and much better than anything I have had in Europe ever - full continental and Irish buffet with pancakes/ omlette made to order as well as lots of other yummy things.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Again above the standard I normally see in Europe.

The hotel is in a lovely setting and makes for a lovely place to stay for a romantic break or for any other reason. They were welcoming of us bringing our baby and the rate was very reasonable and only a little more than smaller noisier less clean hotels in the town (10 minutes drive).

I would recommend the hotel as they clearly make the effort for guests and care what people think

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmaltzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards from Deirdre, Marc and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing