We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Donegal”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our children treated us for my husbands 60th - the hotel and surroundings are so beautiful and peaceful. Hotel staff couldnt do enough for you and really friendly. Room was really nice and met more than our expectations. They upgraded us to overlook the loch. Restaurant absolutely fabulous. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a slice of heaven

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliewht40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear Julie, Thank you for posting such a lovely review of Harvey’s Point which is most appreciated. Kind regards, Deirdre & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,919 - 3,925 of 4,363 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

From my first contact with Harvey's via their Live Chat on their website (which is a brilliant idea) until we left it was a truly delightful experience. We were treated like royality for our entire stay, as were the rest of the guests, our suite was magnificient overlooking the lake, the service in all areas was superb, couldn't say enough about Harvey's Point only sorry I didn't discover it years ago.

Room Tip: We had a Premium Suite but all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryclogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear Mary, Thank you for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. The Live Chat facility is a great way to interact with guests while they are viewing our website and it means our team can answer any queries directly. We look forward to welcoming you back again. All the best from everyone at Harvey’s Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Beautiful place situated on Lough Eske. Heaven for those who enjoy walking, fishing, shooting or just lazing around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Superb rooms (we stayed in the deluxe rooms).
Attentive and exceptionally friendly staff ... Damien in the dining room together with his staff deserve a special mention.
Beautiful location and grounds.
Breakfast buffet (or menu) will set you up for a day's shopping, sight seeing ... whatever.
Pet friendly.
Lots of parking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillyleaghTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you back again to Harvey’s Point and thank you so much for your kind reviews. Kind regards from Damien and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Fabulous hotel, we stayed for a recent wedding. The hotel rooms are out of this world, staff are really lovely and helpful people, they know how to put on a good party!! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luecy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear Lucey, Thank you for your positive review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back sometime for a relaxing leisure break. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

A friend got married at Harveys Point and what a fabulous experience it was for all of us guests! From the moment we got there until we left, we were treated wonderfully. We had champagne on the terrace overlooking the lake while the bridal party had their photos taken in the garden beside us in the glorious sunshine. The dining room was magnificent, overlooking the water and not to mention the array of food, which was wonderful. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite which was more like a small apartment! Beautiful over all. And very romantic.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Romance is in the air at Harvey’s Point. For twenty two years, the Gysling Family have been welcoming couples who are celebrating their big day, wedding anniversary, birthday or any occasion to get away from it all. Thank you for your lovely comments which are most appreciated. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I spent two nights in Harvey's Point last week and it has to be the best location I have ever stayed in. The food was excellent but sometimes the staff seemed to be under pressure so service was slow from time to time. If hot tea at breakfast is one your priorites - this is the place for you. So many hotels provide lukewarm tea but not here! Piping hot and very good.
I was meeting up with an old friend who was staying in the Courtyard so I chose that location as well. This is where you need to prioritise before booking. The Courtyard en-suite bathrooms are very basic - 1980s style -overdue modernisation and at best could be described as somewhere between 2 and 3 star. These rooms are somewhat old-fashioned as well but could be described as "quaint". The mattresses are quite thin and not the most comfortable I have slept on. BUT - the location right beside the lake is fantastic - particularly if the weather is good.

The bedrooms in the main hotel are more luxurious and the bathrooms more modern - decide which you would prefer before booking

Room Tip: Prioritise - location of room versus luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Thank you for your review of Harvey’s Point and for your positive comments on our unique location by the lake, the food and details such as the temperature of the tea. We will certainly take your other comments on board in relation to pacing of dinner and of course the Courtyard, which we accept is of a different standard to the luxury, space and style of the Executive, Deluxe, Premium and Penthouse Suites. We have future plans to renovate the Courtyard while retaining its charm and character. In the meantime, for as little as €20 supplement per person, an upgrade to an Executive is recommended. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Yours sincerely, Deirdre & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,218 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $223 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing