We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I spent two nights in Harvey's Point last week and it has to be the best location I have ever stayed in. The food was excellent but sometimes the staff seemed to be under pressure so service was slow from time to time. If hot tea at breakfast is one your priorites - this is the place for you. So many hotels provide lukewarm tea but not here! Piping hot and very good.
I was meeting up with an old friend who was staying in the Courtyard so I chose that location as well. This is where you need to prioritise before booking. The Courtyard en-suite bathrooms are very basic - 1980s style -overdue modernisation and at best could be described as somewhere between 2 and 3 star. These rooms are somewhat old-fashioned as well but could be described as "quaint". The mattresses are quite thin and not the most comfortable I have slept on. BUT - the location right beside the lake is fantastic - particularly if the weather is good.

The bedrooms in the main hotel are more luxurious and the bathrooms more modern - decide which you would prefer before booking

Room Tip: Prioritise - location of room versus luxury
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Thank you for your review of Harvey’s Point and for your positive comments on our unique location by the lake, the food and details such as the temperature of the tea. We will certainly take your other comments on board in relation to pacing of dinner and of course the Courtyard, which we accept is of a different standard to the luxury, space and style of the Executive, Deluxe, Premium and Penthouse Suites. We have future plans to renovate the Courtyard while retaining its charm and character. In the meantime, for as little as €20 supplement per person, an upgrade to an Executive is recommended. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Yours sincerely, Deirdre & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,200)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,762 - 3,768 of 4,200 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

We Stayed for 2 nights midweek. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Staff, food, ambiance; could not ask for better. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDolan1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear John, Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kind regards from Deirdre & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Having stayed in Lough Eske Castle last Easter we opted for Harveys Pont this time. We had walked around the hotel last year and liked the ambience. On check in or room was not ready but we were given our key card and told to wait two minutes. Our friends had already arrived and were in the library drinking champagne. My wife asked were they had ordered it from and was told it was complimentary on check in. I went back to reception to enquire and was told it would be sent through - would have been nice if it was offered at check in. Room was excellent but a minor issue was there were cobwebs in the curtain pelmet.
We opted to eat in the bar for our evening meal. I had the Thai chicken curry - tasty but very little coconut sauce so therefore dry. My wife had the minced beef steak which was very good. Breakfast was excellant with a nice selection from the buffet.
Views form the breakfast table across the lake and the grounds very pleasant.
The second evening again bar food. Attentive service and I opted for the minced beef steak with chunky chips and peas. When my food arrived I asked for the peas and was told they had none left - not a big issue but I would have thought this was a basic food.
Overall a very good hotel in beautiful surroundings but the lure of going to a hotel without leisure facilities is that you feel you will gain by good service, good food and quality of accommodation. I left wanting to say I would return but having stayed at Lough Eske for a similar price I think on the day I would return there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyNewryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It is unfortunate that your experience did not live up to our usual high standards and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies. I will follow up on your comments and I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in Harvey’s Point. I am available at anytime should you wish to discuss the matter further. Yours sincerely, Deirdre Mc Glone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The staff were very attentive. Greeted by Sean on arrival who was very friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room, which was massive and had a luxurious bathroom . There is great attention to detail. I loved the relaxed atmosphere while having a bath with the soft music and candle. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the porridge with cream. My husband thought the ham was delicious. Really enjoyed the gourmet dinner. The location is perfect with the lough, forests and serenity. Just twenty minutes away from Murvagh strand, a 3 mile stretch of unspoilt sandy beach . My husband and I had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Thank you Harvey's Point.

Room Tip: In the heart ot the Blue Stack Mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabulous2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We loved staying in this hotel, it is very expensive but you get what you pay for. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The scenery is breathtaking, I would definately recommend it for anyone who wants a relaxing break from the daily grind of life. The bedrooms in the deluxe suites are massive, was majorly impressed. One word wow!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards from Deirdre and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I returned to Harvey's with my husband for the first time this weekend since our wedding last year. I think we will be making the annual trip up - it was absolute bliss. We arrived on Friday around 2pm and headed straight for the comfy armchairs of the bar area for fish and chips (Harvey's Point style or Donegal style which means as fresh as they come) and a couple of glasses of vino. Incidentally the house wine here is excellent and really reasonable which is refreshing these days. Check-in then and upstairs to our (apartment sized) Executive Suite for a relax and a huge bath, candles, soft music and plenty of toiletries to avail of. After a few hours relaxation it was downstairs for pre-dinner drink and we were then brought to our table. Nothing is a panic here, but no delays either. The food was fantastic starter right through to fudge accompanyments for our tea and coffee!!!! I can't believe you don't hear about this place more, well not in Dublin anyway. Breakfast would blow you away. You know those places where you really wish you had loads of room to try everything - it's one of those. Anyway, you get the jist - this is really a well deserving five star hotel - just without the spa. I was going to say the staff are it's best asset, but you don't get rooms like this in any other hotel and you don't often get food like this. I haven't even mentioned the scenery!! This hotel doesn't need a spa because after our stay we were just so chilled out. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to an Executive Suite
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hateens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point for your wedding anniversary and thank you most sincerely for your excellent review of your experience. It is our goal to impress guests with our staff, our food and our rooms as well as promoting the beauty of Lough Eske and Donegal. We are currently completing two new treatment rooms on the fourth floor with amazing views of the lake and mountains. We look forward to seeing you again next year. All the best from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

It was myself and my husbands first time to Donegal and we really enjoyed it. We were going for a rest and that is exactly what we got. The hotel is set in a lovely location and we went on a couple of the walks the hotel recommends. We stayed in one of the exectuive rooms and it looked out over the lake - it was fantastic, it's the biggest room we have ever stayed in. The hotel staff were extremely freindly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The only downfall I could say was that there is no Spa as I like to go have a facial while my husband plays golf (but I've been told they are opening one in the next couple of months). Myself and my husband will be back to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow300670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

Thank you for your positive review on your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you have now discovered Donegal and all it has to offer. Work is currently underway to complete two new treatment rooms on our fourth floor which has beautiful views of the lake and mountains and we agree that this will be an added asset to our product. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Harvey’s Point. Kind regards, Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
602 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $250 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing