We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

my husband and i stayed in the hotel for weekend break.
the room was great . plenty of room with all the things we needed for our stay. the only complaint is the car parking you have to park in the paid carpark but other than that it was a great break for us . i would stay here again anytime. staff are so friendly

  • Liked — the spacious room
  • Disliked — the broken window
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank saraluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    229
    106
    56
    45
See reviews for
143
276
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dukinfield cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

Went on the Donegal forum as I was worried about staying at the Central Hotel and Donegal in February not having enough for us to do. I needn't have worried because my friend and I had a fantastic time. The hotel looked old fashioned on first appearance, but our room was really nice with a view over the river and bay. As we had gone with a coach tour we found the food choice limited but as I am vegetarian the manager of the hotel got me a meal from the Thai restaurant( incorporated within the hotel) each evening. We found the cleanliness of the hotel excellent clean towels each day,room cleaned thoroughly and the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment in the hotel every night and the atmosphere in the local bars was superb and the friendliness of the locals in the bar near the river bridge made our holiday, plus the music and Guiness! Visited Letterkenny and Derry and loved them both definately going back.

  • Liked — Room size, cleanliness of room and hotel. Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Not enough variety of food particularly at breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinxyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

Have just spent a weekend in the Central Hotel, Donegal with Caledonian Tours. Excellent value for money. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — View from room
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adele1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

I have been going to Donegal on holiday for many years and The Central was always considered as a nice, clean upmarket hotel. Well all I can say is how times have changed!!. The breakfast was a disgrace, people wanting a nice traditonal Irish breakfast do not go anywhere near this hotel. As the other person commented, the bacon was fatty and tasteless and the eggs were so hard you could almost break your teeth on them. The reception staff should be sent on a customer service course as they were uninterested and could not even be bothered to raise there heads if you wanted to ask a question. The rooms were ok. The only good thing was the lesiure centre which was clean and well maintained. Since the hotel was bought over it clear to see standards have slipped and for such a beautiful place such as Donegal its very sad.

  • Liked — Lesiure centre
  • Disliked — Staff and food
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Mill Park hotel or Harveys Point
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stokie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

I just got back from a 10 day tour of Ireland with a tour group. Of all the hotels we stayed at this was the WORST. What a dump. Only a few of the members had decent rooms. It appears that the rooms overlooking the bay are well maintained and the other are left to rot. Ours was DIRTY. The carpeting was filthy to the point were we didn't dare walk around in bare feet. The bathroom smelled of urine, and a bloody, feces stained towel (probably from the previous guest) was left in the bathroom. (I guess the staff didn't get around to cleaning the room in between guests). Many of the tour group members were kept awake by the partying group of teenagers in the park across from the hotel. And were then awakened before 7:00am by construction noise. Our room was direclty over the entrance to the hotel so we had to contend with the smokers standing directly under our window. The main dining room where we were served breakfast and dinner was windowless and depressing. The food was low quality and badly prepared. The waite staff, while well meaning, were a group of young Polish women who had a minimal understanding of English. At breakfast, the toast was leathery, the eggs were old, the bacon tough and fatty, the coffee and tea watered down. The whole "full breakfast" smacked of a hoodwink scheme. The evening meal was equally unappetizing. I got the impression that they thought we were just another tour group to process through the hotel. Not considering that this is the age of the Internet and that some of the "guests" had a computer and would write about thier stay. Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — find another hotel, you'll be sorry you stayed here
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

My husband spent 2 nights in the Central as part of a leisure break.Our room was spacious& had a great view of Donegal Bay.Staff were extremely helpful, even fetching another TV for us when we wanted to watch the Boat race & the set in our room did not receive the necessary channel.Both nights we ate in the hotel's Thai restaurant & we would thoroughly recommend it.The food was delicious,portions very generous & the staff were more than courteous.All in all,a superb weekend!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2005

Just returned from a weekend stay at the central hotel donegal. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was of a high standard and very clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
We had two nights bed and breakfast and evening meals and could not find fault with the food.
If you are to stay here I would be aware that parking is in a carpark just down the street from the hotel, though this was not a problem.
Some work being done to the hotel but this in no way effected our stay; the hotel has a lovely swimming pool, and leisure facilities.
I'm hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClarkeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
15.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Property: The Central Hotel - Donegal
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing