We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friends took me for lunch as it was my birthday and the Manager Eamonn took us to a booth and told us we can stay as long as we wanted, we had an excellent lunch and the staff were very good. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 864Paula16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for The Central Hotel - Donegal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 759 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Travelled with a friend on a five day coach tour holiday and ours was was one of three coaches. We were late arriving on the first evening but this seemed to be no trouble to the hotel even though it meant a later dinner. The staff were very friendly and coped well with the large number of people. The food was good and the room and bed comfortable. The hotel is in a very good situaton in the middle of the town and for the view of the bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

First impressions were not good due to the girl on reception who was abrupt and unfriendly, the other girl who worked on reception was very friendly and helpful as was the rest of the staff, food poor, unable to get into room at times due to faulty lock on door, also problem with locker which wouldn't open after using leisure facilities at hotel, Pool could be very noisy when there are groups of school children in, Hotel in good location with lovely view over the bay and free parking nearby although the decoration could do with some attention.

Room Tip: some rooms with a nice view over the bay
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Easy check in and was able to park on main street as it was Sunday evening, we got a parking ticket for nearby carpark beside the hotel for Monday morning before ticket warden was up and about! So free parking. Our room was ok walls needed a bit of care but the bed was clean and we had a good sleep. Enjoyed an evening meal I had steak and my partner had chicken. Service was good. We had an appointment the following morning and checked out early with no fuss. Convenient hotel in Donegal town with nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting family in the area , but like to stay in a hotel and we treated ourselves to the Central . Location is great near the shops, bars , and the beautiful bay . I found the restaurant poorly run in the evening with a very limited menu, and goodness the breakfast was awful. lots of pushing and shoving and no seats ; we obviously picked a bad time when the coach tours ate . I think a 'help yourself' like next door in the Abbey hotel is better , I hate that queueing in line and feeling like a kid at school ! No mini bar or safe in room, both pretty standard things and not expensive to install. I will return ,though, for the view, for the location and the manager , but I would eat elsewhere (and I would teach the staff to smile , especially the restaurant guys ! ). Lastly but most importantly I slept SO well, very peaceful and comfortable .

Room Tip: ask to look over the bay
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plasticpaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned hotel with keys to rooms, and rabbit warren layout. Food in restaurant was good, with pleasant and efficient staff. However, rooms were cold, and I found my room tv on inexplicably, and smell of cigarettes in room at 7pm after dining.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank MadDocNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staff here are the best asset of this hotel. We had a delicious Sunday lunch in the restaurant and although we had to wait to book, the waiter and waitresses were fantastic - friendly, hard working and professional. Similarly we had a lovely night in the bar. It has a lovely atmosphere and the 2 piece band provided easy listening and were most enjoyable. The swimming pool was a treat for the children. While the hotel bedrooms are quite dated, we will definitely visit again due to the warmth of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,204 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $107 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing