We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chanced on this hotel, having not booked anywhere in advance. We got a friendly welcome on arrival & they upgraded us to a superior room overlooking the bay. Room was really spacious with a lovely view. Breakfast was plentiful & tasty. Cheap parking near by on a metre and check out isn't until a leisurely 12pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomibones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    228
    106
    56
    45
See reviews for
143
275
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited this hotel last Sunday for lunch with another adult and two children. All courses were served to our table. The food was lovely, hot and loads of it. All the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant. Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Central for one night only, as I was on business and was not going to be back at the hotel befor 9pm I was'nt too bothered about eating but I certainly wanted a pint to relax after a long day. When I got back to the Central I was disappointed to find the bar closed. reception told me that I could get a drink "downstairs". When I went to what turned out to be the dining room, there was ballroom dancing going on with a small bar in one corner. The seating was at dining table and chairs and certainly did'nt look appealing. I went down the street to the Abbey and had a couple in there whilst watching soccer on TV. The hotel was clean,comfortable and very olde worlde. The staff were very nice and breakfast was also very nice. I would have no hesitation coming back again however I would check out the bar situation beforehand to avoid disappointment. One point, the bathrooms dont have any evident heating and were absolutely freezing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the East side with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my fiancée went to the pool and was greeted by a lady named Jenny who was very nice and helpfull the pool was very plain and dreary hotel was beautiful with stunning vistas of Donegal bay and town

Room Tip: Go to a different pool but staff are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.IRELAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent hotel, Food good .Entertainment great.
Had a ball at New Year plenty of Dancing and the
Gala dance was excellent
Have been to this Hotel before and have been made more than welcome.

We come fro Northern Ireland and are made more than Welcome

Room Tip: Get a room overlookint LOCH
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIPENSIONER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here one night during Christmas and had a pleasant night. Staff put us in a quieter room due to festivities in town as we have a young family.

Room was a trek from the reception with no clear way to get a stroller there, but nicely appointed and friendly. Great breakfast and lovely comfortable family room off the bar to chill out. Great location right on the Diamond.

This is a great value hotel, and by value I don't mean lower quality. You get more for your money than you would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for quieter stay and good view of Donegal Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiglm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Having spent ringing in the new year in the central hotel we could not have wished for a better place to do so. It is such a warm and homely hotel and a big credit to management and staff for making our return visit to the central in Donegal yet another most memorable one. We stayed in a lovely room over looking Donegal bay, and the jacuzzi in the bathroom made the stay even more relaxing. The entertainment and food was top class , we had a fantastic night in the ballroom. To top it all off we had the full Irish breakfast the next morning and it was cooked to perfection and piping hot which is always a plus. Upon checking out Eamonn the GM gave us fruit and bottled water for our journey home which was just another lovely touch of hospitality shown to us from the central hotel. We will definitely be back and really look forward to our return journey . A Big thank you to all and hope to see you all again in the summer . From Martin & priscilla.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martykdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
711 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
770 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
383 reviews
15.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,936 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Property: The Central Hotel - Donegal
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing