We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou Whites Hotel Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We travelled to Donegal to view Whites Hotels as part of a group from the UK. We coulnt fault the hotels at all. The room was spotless and the food was excellent. The 3 days were informative and fun. Donegal town has lots of shops and of course the Waterbus.
Thankyou Whites Hotel Group we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 787 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a great Hotel and such a wonderful town. The Hotel is spotless with a good restaurant and cozy bar. Rather strange to see the Prince of Siam on the wall.
We ate dinner and had breakfast all of which were very good and in generous portions.
The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a lovely view of the Town Diamond (as opposed to square). Felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagleslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel is as name says, central. Rooms were lovely and hotel is prettier on the inside than it is on the outside.
Wasn't crazy about the layout of the hotel, very up these stairs, then down those stairs, then over to those stairs. You's want to be fit!!!!
Staff were ok, found them rude at times or maybe just blase. When checking out they tried to charge for dinner, although we were on an all inclusive deal it should have been included. She said oh well then you should have a got a different menu (no doubt cheaper), we were told her no-one said that, hence we were not responsible for their loss. Wouldn't be rushing back, very little atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our Tour group stayed at the Central Hotel on the 6th Sept, really enjoyed this hotel, briallant staff and our cycling group of 75 had a lot of odd requests like bike storage etc and the hotel really did a great job... Top Hotel, well done to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend got it at the right price £25 b&b per person
We arrived at 2.30 but where told we would have to wait an hour for our room this was ok as we went for a bite to eat .
Our room was clean and a good size the shower was great the room was a little dated but fine clean towels the next morning .
we used the swimming pool it is a bit on the small size but it wasnt busy while we were there and they surply you with a swim cap which was good as we had forgotten ours .
Breakfast was good and the girls were helpful all in all a good time was had .
do ask about a ticket for the carpark for free parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently celebrated my parents' 50th wedding anninversary in this hotel.They had had their marriage reception there all those years ago so we felt it appropriate as a venue.There were 26 of us in the group,including my 4-year old nephew.We were treated like royalty from start to finish even though there was a wedding taking place that day too and everyone was busy.The dining room was cosy and warm and the 5 course dinner delicious and exceptional value.We needed 2 special meals which didn't cause a problem despite the short notice and one of the staff members even helped me to decorate the room!The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and the sumptuous breakfast very tasty,served by smiling,welcoming,friendly staff.The musical entertainment was excellent and there was plenty room to dance.Musicians and singers were welcome to perform too.My nephew left his cuddly rabbit behind which he always takes to bed and it was promptly posted on to us at no extra charge.It is obvious the staff is well -trained and happy in their work and that the management is respected and has a hands-on approach.I couldn't praise them enough and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For a special occasion,try the room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank AMNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The reception staff were excellent and the check in was superb. The room itself could have done with a wee bit of modernisation. Slightly grubby marks on the walls. The bathroom was small and the general shower area showed one or two signs of wear and tear and looked a bit shabby. The actual power shower was excellent. Had a nice view over the square in Donegal town. This could lead to problems if you need silence to sleep but for us it was not a problem.
For breakfast the girl serving the tea/coffee toast etc did not offer me toast. When I asked her for some toast you would have thought I asked her for one of her kidneys. Veronica was the lady serving the grub and she was extremely pleasant and served generous portions. The breakfast was first class.
We did not try the swimming pool but by all accounts it is a decent enough set up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_Tourerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
432 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $108 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing