We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, clean hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's position within the town. We received a nice, clean room and were treating by friendly, accommodating staff at all times. The only problem with the hotel is it would be completely unsuitable if you have a buggy or wheelchair.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceful77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    231
    108
    57
    45
See reviews for
144
278
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raphoe co donegal
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2012

we stayed in hotel on sat 12 feb room was reasonable ...very very warm in room..... staff very good BUT at the early hours of morning had to ask to get moved as the noise from outside was unreal and for 93 euro we wanted a sleep .the nite porter moved us to a room at back of hotel which we were both happy about but i think we should have been offered a voucher for a meal for havin to be moved

Room Tip: go to back rooms at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majellacrossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two night because we were attending a wedding. The price was very reasonable, had planned on staying only one night but got a very good deal. The room was very clean but found it very warm when we first arrived, we had to open the windows in December! The breakfast was the usual Irish fry up but i have to say the homemade brown bread was delicious, would have liked some beans with the fry.The staff very very friendly especially the night porter. All in all it was great value and would recommend to friends

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amzs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We where looking for a carvery to go to in Donegal as treat for a day out. On the recomendation of a friend we booked on line. So went today and it was the most wonderful experience, from start to finish the service was exceptional. The food was just superb for a carvery standards, and the Manager Eamon was so attentive to all his customers he even came over to our table to welcome us to the Hotel. And it was so inexpeneive around 20 euros per head fantastic value for money. The next time we go back we're staying the night, Can't wait to return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denandearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was visiting Donegal to see some friends who have recently relocated there. I couldn't decide to book the Central or the Abbey but couldn't see any difference so on impulse I booked The Central. Boy was I sorry. When I arrived, the girl at the desk seemed less than interested in me or any aspect of her job.She rang up to housekeeping to see if I my room was ready and when it was proceeded to tell me payment for the room was upfront!!! In all the hotels I've stayed in, and there's been a lot, I've never been asked to pay upfront.
I checked into my room regardless, it was stifling warm, radiator blasting and the window open. TO say it was basic, is being nice!! I was woken at 2.30am that morning to some other guest outside my door on the phone , speaking loudly, with the person on the other end on loud speaker. I couldn't get back to sleep with this and the unbelievable heat coming from the radiator, which was still on full blast. The knob for turning it off was broken and nowhere to be seen. The next morning things only got worse - when I arrived down for breakfast, I was told they were serving breakfast at the sister hotel next door!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know it's only next door, but C'mon!!!! Basically from what I can tell, the 2 hotels are owned by the same people and if the Central doesn't have many guests, they push them into the one hotel for breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!
Breakfast doesn't even get a mention....
Now I know why they ask for payment up front!! And to top it all off.... not once was I asked was I ok for everything, did I need assistance with my bags, did I have a car that I needed directions to a parking space for!!
Terrible service in an awful hotel and what's more - they put me in the worst room in an almost empty hotel!!! I can't say anything good about this hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CazTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We booked a last minute night away to Donegal from Dublin. The hotel claims to have been done up recently, but it was not evident from what we saw. The room was roasting warm with the heating turned down..... The shampoo/soap in the bathroom was in a little plastic packet and reeked of coconut - you wouldn't wash your dog with it. We went for dinner and when we got back we returned to a dance in the hotel right below our room.... We rang down to ask for the room to be swopped and today 4 days later we are still waiting for an apology. This was bizarre as the hotel was empty, so how a desk clerk thought it appropriate to book us in right above the dance space........

When we went downstairs the next morning for breakfast we were told to go to the neighbouring hotel. Breakfast was poor. The bacon was inedible, so were the beans. It turned out the promotional photos used for the Central was in fact this neibouring hotel....

I would not recommend this hotel at all. It is poor value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Six of us booked in for the New Years Eve bash. The cost of €69 per head was good value as it included all drinks. the food, service and entertainment was superb.
Well done The Central, we look forward to booking this year.


Daniel Breslin, Bedfordshire, England.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
15.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,007 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Property: The Central Hotel - Donegal
Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing