We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is much improved since my last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Central Hotel - Donegal
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“This hotel is much improved since my last visit.”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My previous visit as a solo traveller was mediocre. This year I returned with a group for St. Patrick's Day and noticed a difference immediately. Although the hotel was busy and staff were struggling to cope with huge numbers, everyone was polite and friendly.
Foyer--gleaming and attractive
Rooms--clean, some refurbished
Management--visible presence of new manager
Staff-- uniformed and smart
Food ---very good with variety and choice , afternoon tea served
Entertainment--exciting plans for new season--"Slice of Ireland" etc.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    236
    119
    61
    47
See reviews for
148
295
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We have just returned from Donegal spending two nights staying at the Central Hotel. Can I firstly say we paid only 45 euro per person for two nights and this included breakfast so probably can't complain but I will anyway. The hotel is completely outdated, grubby and dirty. We had two rooms one double and a family room. In the double room we had an amazing view (what we could see the window was filthy dirty). The bedsprings were coming through the mattress and we had to cover it with a towel. The bedlinen was worn and threadbare we didn't use the throw it was so bad. The room was warm and we had plenty of hot water. The bath room was fine but the shower gel and soap was of such poor quality that it took a lot to work up a lather! The breakfast was very good but the restaurant was so busy we had to wait for a long time and the staff were so busy they had no time to engage with the customers. The accomodation needs a major upgrade before I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiernan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Just returned from a five day stay in this hotel and have a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were warm and friendly. The food was excellent with a good variety every evening a choice of meat poultry or fish, only minor complaint was no vegetarian selection, however I am sure the staff would have accommodated this if asked. The furnishings and decor a little dated but this is all part of character of the Hotel, everything was clean and the whole place was so warm and cosy.
It is certainly as the name suggests very central everything is virtually on the doorstep which is ideal for anyone with mobility problems,

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just returned from weekend break to Donegal. The Central hotel was comfortable and cosy and the location was great. Having read bad reviews about this hotel, I was apprehensive about staying but when we arrived the room was clean and warm and unless you are looking for 5* luxury, this hotel is perfect for a short break in Donegal. The value for money was excellent with two cooked breakfasts and an evening meal included in the price.
The hotel is quite old fashioned but as i've said, the room was clean and I found the old fashioned decor made the hotel cosy and traditional. Staff were friendly and service at breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraMcParland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiltimagh, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I and two children aged 10 and 13 stayed in a family room for 2 nights in Aug 2010. The room was clean and a good size although the beds were not the most comfortable. We used the pool, jacuzzi and steam room on both mornings. The pool was warm and clean and the staff were very helpful. My husband had the 'full Irish', while the kids and I helped ourselves to a selection of cereals, orange/apple juice, toast/brown bread. The restaurant offers a Thai and 'regular' dinner menu and the food from both menus was nice. Overall it's a nice hotel for the price. Yes, it may be a bit dated but that is not necessarly a negative. It's location is good for touring south Donegal which has some breathtaking scenery. The Slieve League Cliffs should not be missed, but bring your waking shoes and camera!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayoismagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed in the Central Hotel Donegal for four nights as part of a package trip. We would have walked out and found a better hotel if we had the choice. This is a hotel which is tired and has seen better days. The first room we were allocated did have a fantastic view of the harbour. Not only did the corridor on the second floor stink of cigarette smoke, so did the room but this was mixed with a smell of damp. There was also a large black stain on the carpet. The windows showed signs of being cleaned with the corners having been missed out. The glass to the side of the main window had not been cleaned for some time - evident by messages left by previous guests. The windows carried black dirt on them which fell onto the window ledge. After waking up with a headache from the smoke smell and tip-toeing around the dirty patch on the carpet all night we were offered a room move without queston. We looked at four other rooms rejecting three in the process as being damp/smokey, or not clean (i.e. mould on upvc panels under the windows). One room was also rejected as the bath was a sit-in hip bath type and too small for 'normal' use.

Because we were on an organised coach tour, we were on a 'limited' menu, other guests were offered breakfast items that were unavailable to us even when we offered to pay for upgraded breakfasts. The majority of the staff were pleasant.
The bar in the premises did not hold the same attraction as the neighbouring Abbey Hotel, which was bright and attractive (both of these hotels belonging to the White Hotel Group). On the plus side, the food, although basic with a statutory serving of mashed potato with every evening meal, was wholesome and acceptable.
Donegal is a lovely town with lovely people. In attracting return visitors this hotel is letting the side down. Some rooms have been upgraded but no rooms appear to be classified as 'Non-Smoking' as you will get in the UK. Come on Ireland.. you can do better.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABJLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I had a great time here and I will be back soon probably.
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Property: The Central Hotel - Donegal
Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in The Heart of Donegal Town on the doorstep of all local amenities and ideal base for touring County Donegal. The Central Hotel is situated near beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Sliabh League (the highest seacliff edge in Europe). Conveniently located for Glenveagh National Park and Glencolmcille Irish Folk Village - a must see! The beautiful County of Donegal has been voted "Coolest Destination 2017" by the famous National Geographic Magazine. Seasonal Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing