We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Mill Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mill Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Just returned from a one night stay at Mill Park. This is a lovely hotel with really friendly and welcoming staff.
The public areas,bar reception etc are really cosy and welcoming. We found our room 348 to be very clean and spacious with a table and two armchairs as well as the usual dressing table, TV etc. The bathroom was also very clean with a good overbath shower.
We had some lunch in the cafe bar which was delicious, seafood chowder was super, very good value. We decided to eat in the Granary restuarant that evening, this proved to be the only bad thing we encountered. We went for the set dinner menu at 35 euro each. The food was very disapointing as the main course seemed as if it had been sitting prepared for too long and we didn't enjoy it. In hindsight we should have complained at the time ,but you learn.All in all we found dinner to be poor value for money.
The breakfast was superb, extensive cold buffet, cereals etc and a self service full cooked breakfast choice, we really enjoyed this and with tea and toast brought to the table by very friendly and efficient staff!
We really enjoyed our stay apart from dinner, would try eating in the cafe bar in the evening instead.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    238
    75
    29
    12
See reviews for
179
362
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

I drove up to this hotel on spec, saw a wedding in progress and scarpered. Having looked around town, I realised there weren't many choices so returned reluctantly.
From the moment I went in to the time I left was a brilliant experience. The staff were as friendly and helpful as you'd get anywhere. The room was great, the food delicious. Service in the bar was instantaneous, and the awareness among the bar staff of what was going on around them was of the standard you would have seen maybe 30 years ago but pretty much doesn't exist anymore. I have to say it was probably the best stay I've ever had in any hotel anywhere.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardsmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountcharles
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2008

hotel was easy to find, food was good, service was fine.Donegal is a wonderfull place

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank jimmo7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I stayed in this hotel two weeks ago with my husband & our two year old son, it was just a pleasure from the moment we walked through the doors. The staff could not have been friendlier. It was so clean and had everything that you need for a lovely stay in a beautiful part of the country. I would recommend it to everyone & we will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_from_Drogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I had stayed in the Hotel before and must say that their professionalism in organising weddings is superb. The food was ok- the main course was perhas a bit disappointing- Roast beef was more than a little on the tough side.

Overall this is a nice hotel with good staff. However I found it a little over priced for what is essentially a 3 star hotel (or so I was advised as the reason that there is no room service)

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Not good value for money
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookstown31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This was a one night stop for our group traveling through Ireland and I wish we had more time to stay there. It is a beautiful hotel with great service and accommodations. Would highly recommend it!

Not in the center of town so you have to either walk a ways or catch a cab. But if you want some country luxury this is a good spot.

  • Liked — beautiful accommodations and great service
  • Disliked — athough not a problem for us.... location to town might be a downside for some
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We went to a wedding in June in the Mill Park. From the minute we landed life just became one long easy, pleasant time. We were greeted by a friendly staff, to whom nothing was too much trouble, and escorted to what I can only say was a 'wow' room. Dublin hotels with your fancy suites 'eat your heart out'. The MIll Park rooms are big enough to hold a good party in....not that any of that went on. The hotel was the essence of peace and tranquility with enough space for the children to get 'not quite lost' in, a great swimming pool and leisure area and plenty of reading lounges. There is lovely cafe bar which serves food most of the day, at reasonable rates, and the restaurant overlooks the foyer, which we found very interesting, and fun to eat in. The hotel seemed to be catering for numerous different functions and with total ease. The food both in the restaurants, and at the wedding was without fault. All in all we had a perfect time and the Mill Park is firmly on our list of annual retreats.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and spacious accommodation
  • Disliked — it was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AineMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
2.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Park Hotel

Property: Mill Park Hotel
Address: The Mullins | Killybegs Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 110 guest bedrooms, which have been individually designed with comfort, style and convenience in mind; these include executive rooms and luxurious suites for your complete indulgence. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of the state of the art gymnasium & swimming pool, sauna & steam room, including a children's pool. Or alternatively, relax in the wellness center for absolute relief from the stresses and strains of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mill Park
Mill Park Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing