We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Mill Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here mid week on business. Hotel is ok. Rooms are reasonably equiped, bathroom in my room was very small and pokey. Beds are very poor quality and mattresses are in bad need of changing. TV was tiny with about 5 stations and no movies. Wifi is free but desperately slow. Barman was very friendly and the steak I had was excellent. Breakfast is good and staff in general were friendly and helpful. Overall profunctionary but nothing special. Needs a touch of a good general manager.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sportsfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 940 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mill Park Hotel is located on the outskirts of Donegal and was a great place to relax after sight seeing. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable . The bar was a good place to gather for a drink and good food. We thought about walking into town but decided to stay in our comfortable surroundings at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband & I had an over night stay in this hotel recently ( a gift voucher)On checking in I asked the receptionist, had our room got a view,she hesitated,and replied,"well its at the end of the corridor"
The room was actually overlooking 3 garages & the boiler,I immediately asked for a change,this was quickly sorted,this time it was a double room, I had specifically requested a twin room,once again very quickly sorted,unfortunately,the third room again on the ground floor,was beside a boiler,which hummed all night.
Very roomy bedrooms,very nice
furnishings the bathrooms were spacious,bath & walk in shower,very little shelf area,for toiletries.
We were disappointed at not having water provided,also there was the normal hospatility tray,but no biscuits,which is always very welcome. no in room safes,and no fridges.

Our evening meal was beautiful,served by very pleasant staff.
Breakfast was also excellent,the hotel was busy,with a lot of American visitors.
the restaurant staff were excellent.
In conclusion,beautiful hotel,furnishings,and staff fantastic.
I feel they would need to add the extras to the bedrooms,biscuits,water etc.
Not a cheap hotel,
Don't think I would return
Being widely travelled,we do expect the extras in a 4star hotel

Room Tip: Definitely not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler84674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

While traveling with CIE Tours we had the opportunity to enjoy this lovely hotel. Rooms were very nice, staff was very welcoming and accommodating, and the food was delicious. We enjoyed chatting with Chef Mark and would have taken him to the USA had he been willing. He made the most delicious brown bread of our entire stay in Ireland.
Hotel was walking distance to the center of town which had many lovely shops, restaurants, and sites. Definate thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makingchoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really beautiful hotel in Donegal town.

Everything about our stay was lovely from check in to check out.
We stayed for two nights in July.
Our room was huge and very comfortable.
Beautiful decor.

We ate in the bar on both nights, the food was great and the staff were lovely.
Very warm and welcoming - checked on us a few times and even though the bar was very busy they seamed to make an effort to have a chat with everyone.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a short walk into Donegal town.

We are looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed in the mill park 7 times the last time June 2013,I now find it quite expensive to stay in as they don't seem to do any deals to encourage you to go and stay. The reason my wife and I stayed there was to use a gift voucher we received as a present or we would not have payed the€150 for 1 nite. The hotel is friendly,clean and good for food ,but I would say the hotel was a lot better value a few years back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Mill Park Hotel in Donegal was a great hotel for any length of stay in the Donegal area. This hotel may have had the largest standard size room that I ever stayed in. Equally pleasurable was an extra large bathroom with a stall shower in addition to a bathtub. Everyone from the person who checked us in a reception to the housekeepers were very friendly and it was obvious that their aim was to make every guest comfortable. The indoor swimming pool is open until 9 PM and is great place to unwind after a day of walking and shopping in Donegal.
Regarding the shopping district, it is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, but we chose to take our car and park it in a pay car park.
Although free wifi is advertised, I found it difficult to connect to the hotel network from everywhere in the hotel except for the lobby. Other than the wifi, everything else was perfect and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evans81051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
2.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
429 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Park Hotel

Address: The Mullins | Killybegs Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#4 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $138 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 110 guest bedrooms, which have been individually designed with comfort, style and convenience in mind; these include executive rooms and luxurious suites for your complete indulgence. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of the state of the art gymnasium & swimming pool, sauna & steam room, including a children's pool. Or alternatively, relax in the wellness center for absolute relief from the stresses and strains of everyday living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mill Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mill Park
Mill Park Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing