We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of The Cove Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cove Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Great B & B”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wonderful visit and great B & B. Room a little tight but probably our own fault as we were initially offered an upstairs room. Very good breakfast. Service was superior and all-in-all a highly recommended B & B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    42
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
226
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I found Joan and Liam fantastic hosts, during are four night stay. the bed rooms where spotless, and no problems with the service. Liam was very knowable about Donegal, events, places to visit. I would highly recommend the bed and breakfast to anyone staying in Donegal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_brady1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We only stayed one night, but this B&B is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the host was very friendly. We were met with an offer of a cup of tea and the use of the sitting room to relax in. The location is quiet and there was plenty of parking. This is a B&B worth putting on the go-to list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Joan and Liam were fantastic hosts and we would have been very happy to stay longer than just the one night. This is certainly the best B&B we stayed at during our holiday in Ireland. The room was spotlessly clean and had so many little extras touches that we felt completely at home. The bathroom had a power shower and plenty of toiletries. The bed was incredibly comfortable with beautiful linen. The breakfast was great. Lots of brochures and suggestions for interesting things to see and do. Highly recommended to stay in this lovely B&B - we would certainly stay here again if we go back to Donegal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and myself stayed here one night, but wished we could stay longer. Liam and his family were just lovely, making us feel right at home. The room was cozy, clean and just right. Lot's of space to park and the drive into the town is very close. Liam told us about a nice restaurant in town, Perl's Place, that was excellent. We highly recommend staying at The Cove.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Cove Lodge is such a lovely little B&B just mere minutes from Donegal city centre. Joan and Liam are a lovely couple who are wonderfully accommodating. My friend and I seemed to be the only people staying there at that time, so got first grade treatment from them both with suggestions of where to go, what to do and chats at breakfast.

The rooms are small and quaint but perfect for what we needed for one night on route from Galway to Belfast. The lodge is surrounded by stunning views (but I'm a bit biased as I've fallen in love with Ireland!)

Could not recommend a nicer place in Donegal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

No doubt many people stay in Donegal, but few will experience the great hospitality of Joan and her daughter Holly. A vey well presented B7B with excellent views of the Cove, the opportunity to stay here should not be missed. Thankyou. P&K from Oz

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
4.5 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
2.7 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Lodge B&B

Property: The Cove Lodge B&B
Address: The Lodge The Lodge Drumgowan, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, four star, stone-faced country home situated in a rural setting yet only minutes from bustling, lively, historic Donegal Town. LONELY PLANET RECOMMENDED. Comfortable and relaxing accommodation with pretty rooms and delicious breakfasts! Ideal touring base for the cliffs at Slieve League, Glenveagh National Park, Mount Errigal and Dunlewey Lakeside Centre. Golf, fishing, horse-riding, beaches and Craft Village all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cove Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing