We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay!”
Review of The Cove Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cove Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at this lovely home and were very impressed with this comfortable home and the lovely couple who looked after us. The room was great as were the breakfasts and they were most helpful with local attractions and how to get there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2plus8, Owner at The Cove Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Helen...I am really glad you enjoyed your two night visit to our home. We always try our very best to ensure our visitors have a comfortable and relaxing stay in our home. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future and thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Best wishes, Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 370 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our trip to Ireland began with our stay at the Cove Lodge B&B in Donegal Town on July 14th - 20th 2012. We stayed with the Mccrea Family, Liam and Joan. Arrived to the warm welcome of Joan Mccrea at the tastefully decorated home with comfortable rooms with private baths. Lovely extras fragrant hand and body wash, & creams. Enjoyed the comfortable bedding, spottless home and rooms. Woke to lovely views and greeted each morning in dining room. Remarkable Irish breakfasts and other options available. Truely loved Joans Tomatoe rosettes and potatoe bread. Location was excellent to recommended restaurants and activities. Joan provided plenty of local activites and directions when needed she was a exceptional hostess. Recommend this B&B and Irish experience for your holiday.

Room Tip: choose at least a 4 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2plus8, Owner at The Cove Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Leslie.....Thanks for your very kind and positive review of your six night stay in our home. I am so glad you enjoyed the holiday and our breakfasts and recommendations on places to visit and eat.. We try our best to offer our guests a warm irish welcome and comfortable, relaxing stay. Hopefully we will meet again when you are in this area again in the future. Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Cove Lodge and it was wonderful. Joan was a wonderful cook with an Irish breakfast in the morning and she helped me with the local information, which I greatly appreciated, for
I am researching my family ancestory. This place is beautiful it is nestled in the countryside surrounded by rolling hills and beautiful flowers. It is spotless with hardwood floors, confortable beds, great food and wonderful hospitality!!! We have stayed at other B&B 's but this is the best and I would recommend The Cove Lodge to all who wished to have a wonderful holiday. I hope to return soon!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2plus8, Owner at The Cove Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Joy
Thank you for your very nice compliments on our home and your visit here in July. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we would love to see you again if you are in this area. Best wishes, Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed on 20th July 2012 for 1 night, house spotless, comfortable beds, no problems, a good nights sleep. Liam gave us good advice on where to eat and we were not disappointed. Next morning we enjoyed a great Irish breakfast. Lovely place to stay, Liam and Joan are great hosts.

James & Anne

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed for 1 night, my nephew and I. Let me tell you the owners were SO nice!!! The Cove Lodge is about 3-4 minutes outside city of Donegal. The lodge is great, the rooms were stellar, and the place was SPOTLESS. Had zero problems with anything.

I would 100% whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2plus8, Owner at The Cove Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Daniel...Thanks for your very kind comments on your stay in our home in July. I am really pleased that both you and your nephew enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will meet you again in the future. Best wishes,
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

You cannot miss the Cove Lodge from the road. It looks as neat outside as it does as you enter the front door. The rooms are spotless and the ensuite bathrooms are equipped with wide showers. While two of us enjoyed a hearty Irish breakfast, the others had a choice of cereal, yoghurt and some fresh fruits cut into small pieces. The only thing we regretted was not to have stayed longer at the Cove Lodge!
Quelle agréable surprise de s'installer dans un B&B confortable et impeccable après avoir subi les caprices du ciel irlandais! L'accueil est très chaleureux, la chambre est spacieuse et très propre et le petit-déjeuner complet et copieux. Un séjour à recommender!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in The Cove Lodge on 12 July and it was perfect in every way - absolutely flawless!! (I'm very particular about where I stay when away!) We stumbled across this B & B completely by accident and we're very glad we did. On arrival, I was greeted at the Door by Liam, (he and his wife Joan run the B & B), who was very courteous and welcoming. (We'd had a very long and hard day's travel and were both exhausted.) After a short rest, we were ready for off again! Liam arranged a Taxi for us to go into very nearby Donegal Town and Joan, his very lovely and accommodating wife, gave us some good advice on where to eat and find entertainment. Next morning, My Husband had a full Irish Breakfast with lots of Tea and Toast (Yum, he said!!) Now, I'm vegan - this can be quite difficult for some B & Bs - but not here, I was presented with cooked potato bread, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, toast, coffee marmalade and more toast! The bedroom we were given was spacious with beautiful decor and immaculately clean - as was the entire house and surrounding gardens - just gorgeous!!

We wanted to stay two more days but they were fully booked! Not surprising!! Stay here, you'll be very glad you did!!

Room Tip: Oops, there is no fitness centre - this is a B & B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0part
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2plus8, Owner at The Cove Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are very pleased that you thouroughly enjoyed your visit to our home and that everything was to your satisfaction. We strive to provide a comfortable, clean, relaxed & peaceful experience for our guests and we are glad that you found your stay a perfect stay. We hope to see you again if you are in Donegal Town again. Best Wishes.
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
4.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,323 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Arches Country House
The Arches Country House
#3 of 44 in Donegal Town
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Lodge B&B

Address: The Lodge The Lodge Drumgowan, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $103 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, four star, stone-faced country home situated in a rural setting yet only minutes from bustling, lively, historic Donegal Town. LONELY PLANET RECOMMENDED. Comfortable and relaxing accommodation with pretty rooms and delicious breakfasts! Ideal touring base for the cliffs at Slieve League, Glenveagh National Park, Mount Errigal and Dunlewey Lakeside Centre. Golf, fishing, horse-riding, beaches and Craft Village all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cove Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing