We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you miss this you may as well just lie down and cry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Reel Inn

The Reel Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Nightlife in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Reel Inn is Donegals No.1 venue for live Irish Traditional Music. A family run business providing live Irish music and entertainment 7 nights a week.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you miss this you may as well just lie down and cry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Was there last Septand got involved in an after wedding reception party. Bride was singing, playing and having a great time, new husband was in the front of the bar watching hurling. ???
The drinks, the music, the craik, and the people were incredible. After the second night we were treated as "regulars". Also experienced our 1st lock-in. What a hoot. Can't wait to get back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    56
    12
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
algarve
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

great pub music every night, guest artists just join in had the place rocking. john the owner plays the accordian and the guy who plays the guitar has a wide range of songs, also well looked after stout

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lianin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“if you ever cross the sea and come ire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

visit the pub on the bridge corner and the river below in Donegal town(I cant remember names but I sure can smell the Guinness)irish stew you cant eat there but john and denise serve you good traditional irish music best in town, dont take my word check it out 9-12,both are exellent host, john plays with local musicans and when denise sings everyone listens,so shut up and drink your pint silently and should you play an intrument they let you join in,so come in early meet the locals( askfor tomy) have a pint or 2start mingling its a great welcome
you dont like music pop in the afternoon and get the latest news it great fun if you listen to all that
B--------S------t on the way out look 2oclock high you see blueberris restaurant if you still up to it get your irish stew(home made) big 10/4

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorable night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went to The Reel Inn pub just before christmas as we were touring Ireland and stopped in Donegal Town for one night , we had a brilliant night but didnt realise the live music starts from around 10p.m , just sat there from 9p.m and had a couple of beers waiting . people friendly and the husband and wife team who run the place are true proffesionals and also great musicians . The live music was brilliant and will remember that night for ever. They even sang Galway Girl for my partner. Well done to 2 very hard workers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank carl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My pub experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

i was there in august our tour driver told us about the reel inn boy was he right. we had a ball i danced with the stepdancers drank a lot of pints and met a lot of good irish people. th e locals welcomed us with kindness and hospitality.it was a great nite.i will always make it a must whenever i go back .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KEVINBIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reel Inn also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Reel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing