We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridges Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, helpful couple run the place and are very welcoming. Great value rooms, 2 with en suite and 2 with shared bathroom. Nice warm place to stay on a budget. Great place, very central to town right across the river from the old castle and beautiful bridge.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussielumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The family were really lovely and Bernie is a really nice and friendly person. They made us feel so welcome and nothing was a bother. Bernie gave us some ideas on good places to eat, which turned out to be very good.
The rooms had great views and we gained information about the area from the family. I found the bathroom adaquate for an overnight stay. Plenty of hot water for our showers and two W.C. so no waiting if someone is having a shower. Comfortable beds for a good nights sleep. What else could you ask for? A fabulous breakfast and Donegal is a very pretty town and very friendly people. We enjoyed the night life alot, very relaxing.

Room Tip: Always sit on the bed when inspecting the room, a good nights sleep is very important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neville a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Bernie is really lovely, and the guest house is in a beautiful spot overlooking the two bridges, very central to the town. There was a plastic undersheet on the mattress, which, as we're not incontinent, I hated. The shower/bathroom was very , very tiny. Breakfast was really nice, and Donegal is a pretty little place.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a plastic undersheet. The rooms at the front have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Really nice people, pretty and clean rooms, delicious breakfast, excellent location on a quiet street overlooking the river but within a stone's throw from the town centre - true value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had a very nice stop here. Bernie & Steve were very kind. The price was very good and the location even better. Breakfast was included and very nice too. I ate dinner at the 'Olde Castle Bar' across the river which was well worth it too.

Room Tip: Had the room right over the entrance - nice room with a good view of the river and Donegal Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just got back from a lovely stay at The Bridges. Bernie and her family were great hosts to us. The bedrooms are lovely and very clean. Its lovely to lie back in bed and listen to the river which is on the other side of the road. The only slight drawback is not having a TV in your room, saying that we enjoyed going back to listening to the radio. The breakfast were very tasty as well

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I stayed at the bridges for a wedding in Donegal town for two nights, Bernie was very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were immaculately clean and Bernie even let us borrow her hair dryer when we had forgotten ours! The house is very nice and comfortable, but what makes the place is Bernie and Steve, who could not be friendlier. The price is excellent too! nothing is a trouble for them and they could not be more welcoming. The location to the town centre couldn't be better it's only a stones throw to the square.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
231 reviews
0 mi away
Riverside House B&B
Riverside House B&B
#23 of 44 in Donegal Town
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridges Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridges Bed and Breakfast

Address: Waterloo Place, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $80 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bridges Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridges Hotel Donegal Town
The Bridges b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing