We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem on the diamond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blueberry Tea Room

The Blueberry Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Navan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem on the diamond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Popped in for lunch passing through on our way up to Glenties.

The place was heaving, but the service was super, the staff attentive, friendly, and there was no delay in getting fed.

First time in a long time that I got a coffee refill, very welcome. The lunch portions are on the genorous side. So make sure you are hungry because you must try desserts. We shared a choc cheesecake which was to die for.

Definitely would return if in Donegal town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeH478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    129
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We eat here often while in Donegal and food is good. Desserts are fantastic. I find it very pricey for what it is but we still return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colhooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast with fresh baked scones and muffins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Brian the owner is a warm friendly fellow, greeting the locals, regulars and tourists alike. We were in town for the TASTE of Donegal and spent two mornings at the Blueberry. I had the mini fry each morning, which I found to be very good and made with fresh local ingredients. Whilst my bride had scones, eggs and muffins. Service is good, food is good and it is a good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, great food and fabulous service. Really good children's menu, excellent choices on the menu. Lovely coffee and delicious selection of home made desserts. Really friendly and helpful staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal,Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best chowder ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Had very pleasant lunch today. Top notch food excellent coffee , friendly service, highly recommended .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blueberry Tea Room also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Blueberry Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing