We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Restaurant Near Town Centre”
Review of Olde Castle Bar

Olde Castle Bar
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $48
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Donegal’s finest traditional old Irish Bar & Restaurant offers a warm welcome to visitors to Donegal Town and locals alike. The Olde Castle Bar and Restaurant Donegal is home to the finest Donegal seafood, steaks, beers, wines & whiskies – served by the O’Toole family and their team, with a smile and a Cead Mile Failte!
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Really Good Restaurant Near Town Centre”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by John Mc Menamin, owner of The Reel Inn pub. He was spot on. Very charming ambiance and great service. A good menu that includes many Irish dishes like colcannon and Irish stew. We enjoyed our meal and watching the activity on the street outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_in_Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    368
    81
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good pub and restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great pub and restaurant.
Good dishes and prices. Nice atmosphere.
Courteous staff.
strongly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food once again”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

At a christening here which is now my third time eating in the restaurant. Unbelievable quality food once again and service. very quick, polite, etc. Venison Pie is the nicest venison ive ever had. Very surprised this is not the top restaurant in Donegal as ive ate in the majority of ones above it here and in my opinion this is the nicest. Looking forward to next meal there already. 10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamus1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistent GOOD FOOD :-)”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A welcome return to this favorite haunt. Fresh produce at reasonable prices never fail to delight the palate. Excellent customer service ensures this is at the top of my list of places to visit in Donegal Town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mucknamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seafood anyone? Look no further, this is the place.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Considering there's so many fishing villages in the area, it would be a crime not to try any of the seafood. I can highly recommend the Old Castle Bar. The people there are so nice, it's so cozy and the food is a true feast. If you're unsure what to get you really can't go wrong with the Seafood Platter for two. The fish is so fresh and so tasty with some delicious sauces with certain fish types. To be honest, I've been to a lot of places around the world and I've had all kinds of fish, even sushi, but this dish is the best I've ever had. Looking forward to visiting Donegal again and the Old Castle Bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LelooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Castle Bar also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Olde Castle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing