We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accommodation,excellent location”
Review of The Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gap Lodge
Ranked #12 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have just returned from my stay in The Gap Lodge bed and breakfast. I previously stayed there last year and was delighted to return again. Nothing had changed my opinion that this is one of the best accommodations in Donegal. The owner Sile and her family are so welcoming and made you feel at home as soon as you arrive as I travelled on my own I felt like part of the family. The room was spacious and comfortable the breakfasts are just beautiful the donegal fry takes some beating. You have a choice of breakfasts which i found very appealing you can chop and change if you want to do so.i have stayed in many other bed and breakfast's and had no choice. So this was an extra bonus. The Gap Lodge beside the Blue Stack Montains has its own appeal. A little bit of heaven and very reasonable.I can recomend this accommadion to anyone, solo travellers and those also with families,you will get a great Irish welcome.Sile and her lovely family give me all the tourist information I needed and an idea of all the places to visit.Nothing was a bother, so hope to return again next year.hasta lluego'''

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed a week and it was 10 out of 10 great.
A perfect base for setting out each day to see the beautiful countryside of Donegal.
Located just 10km out the road from Donegal Town, in a picturesque gap between hills.
Very child friendly and Sile made us feel most welcome, the breakfasts were grade A and set us up for the day. I have already recommended The Gap Lodge B&B to friends!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre-and-Veronika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is amongst the best of B&B's we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobanUrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I have recently stayed in the Gap Lodge, Donegal. Propietor Sile Callaghan.I was enjoying a few days holiday in Donegal and stayed for 5 nights at athe Gap Lodge.This bed and breakfast I would reccommend to anyone .The Hospitality by Sile and her family was second to none. I got a great Irish welcome and I got allocated a spacious room en-suite TV telephone and all the facilities necessary. I could have chosen a hotel nearby but I am so glad I choose the Gap Lodge. The setting is absoutely beautiful right in the centre of barnesmore gap , beside Lough Eske with breathtaking views.
I have travelled to many places throughout Europe viewing Hotels and Bed and Breakfasts and I can say without hesitation. The Gap Lodge is the best in Donegal.
Breakfast was superb.
I arrived as a stranger and I hope left as a friend . Will definetely be back.
Nearest Town Donegal Town Plenty to do .

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This B&B was a good price and an excellent stop-over on our road trip around Ireland. Sheila was very welcoming. The room was clean and spacious. The house was situated on a busy main road but our room was at the back of the house so I couldn't hear any road traffic. The location was great for a walk in the evenings. It was a bit of a trek to Donegal so a car was essential.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bohemian_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Wanted a B&B near Donegal but not in town. The Gap Lodge worked perfectly. Sheila Callahan, the owner, is a wonderful, pleasant woman and eager to provide any assistance or information. Lodgings are simple and clean. It is right on the N15 highway and the front rooms (where we stayed) can hear the road noise, but my husband and I use earplugs and it wasn't a problem. If that sort of thing bothers you, ask for a room facing on the back. Breakfast was well prepared and the brown bread is absolutely delicous.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sac2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniepiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
4.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
794 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gap Lodge

Address: The Lodge The Lodge The Lodge Barnesmore Gap, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minute drive from Donegal Town, Harvey's Point Hotel and Solis Castle Hotel. Our spacious family-run home is on the Letterkenny & Ballybofey Road N15, left side. Credit Cards accepted. Breakfast Menu available with home baking and special diets catered for. Biddy's Famous Pub on our doorstep and a choice of excellent restaurants in nearby Donegal Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing