We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess and Lodge great!”
Review of The Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gap Lodge
Ranked #12 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Three older ladies shared a very nice room. Cila (Sheila) was a very kind gracious and helpful hostess. The Lodge is located a few miles north of Donegal City, on the main highway, no problem to find. It is a super area to explore, started with lunch in Mount Charles then exploring the peninsula out from Donegal all the way to Slieve League and Glencolumbkille, Lunched in Mount Charles and dinner in Killybegs. then off to the Lodge for a good nights sleep and a wonderful breakfast. Then with help from Cila, exploring the great city of Donegal. Don't miss this area!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

This B&B is situated before you enter Donegal Town. It is in a very quite and nice location. The owner greeted us with chocolates, tea and coffee in our rooms even though we arrived late at around 11pm on a Friday evening. The room was very clean, spacious and also contained an electric blanket.

The breakfast the next day was also one of the best I had from all the B&B's I've gone in Ireland. Besides cereals, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, etc., there were a variety of options to choose from the cooked breakfast. We took the savoury scrambled eggs with bacon, and couldn't have done a better choice. Pancakes, scones, jams, honey and maple syrip were also provided.

Would definitely recommend this B&B and the price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Well what can i say about this family ran B&B. In one word EXCELLENT, my wife n I stayed here and were greeted with a warm smile from sile, the whole home surroundings r so clean u could eat your food off the floor.
The menu here is for all needs from ur trad fry to ur porridge and cereals so u wont go hungry because ur host will make sure your full. As for the views there fab, mountains all around and beaches to go for those long walks to clear the head from the night before where u would have enjoyed the crac in all the local pubs. I would recommend this fine estableshment. A credit to sile and charlie

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What an awesome B & B!!! It's a super convenient location with beautiful surroundings. Shiela (totally misspelled, sorry), the owner, is so sweet and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, the wifi worked great, and the bathroom was a decent size which I found was not always the case in Ireland. Our room was on the ground floor which was great not to have to drag our luggage upstairs for once.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very friendly welcome, the house was spotlessly clean throughout. I can also have no problem recommending the excellent breakfast menu. As a person that usually does not take the usual traditional Irish breakfast I had plenty choice. The porridge was first class, and I can also recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. On both of my nights here I walked to Biddy' o Barnes pub which is just a 10 min walk, but as it is a walk along the road be sure to wear a high vis jacket.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in this B&B for two successive nights with a colleague of mine. It was a random choice on our part but we were happy to have knocked on their door late one evening.
It's situated just outside the town in a beautiful part of the world on the road North, is very clean and the lady in charge couldn't do enough for us. (I can't recall her name)
My highlight of the stay was the breakfast though. Our stay was only supposed to have been for one night but when we made it back the second night, on a return from Malin head, man, was I looking forward to the breakfast the following morning.
Michael.

Room Tip: It's probably a popular spot so book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many times I have passed by this Family run establishment without staying there so I decided to give it a try. We were greeted with that overwhelming and traditional Donegal Welcome that has by now, become rather famous from this part of Ireland.
First impressions are, the cleanliness and tidiness of the complete premises with absolutely nothing out of place whatsoever. The thought and consideration for visitors is obviously so high on the owners list that we were unable to fault them.
Awakening each Morning with a window view of the Mountains, which are basically just across the Road from you is a dream to most. These Mountains are the start of those that form the great divide known as the Barnesmore Gap.
There is a nicely varied Breakfast Menu which caters for everyone’s tastes. The traditional morning fry is beautifully replaced by the healthy Morning Grill and is delightfully tasteful. No matter what your choice is, there is home made scones and toast with a choice of breads to accompany it.
Our hosts, Sile and Charlie run a well organized Guest Accommodation, which I would compliment as being among the finest run establishments out of the Hundred or so that I have visited in my Lifetime.
Staying here is a marvellous base for Hillwalkers, also it is a great central location for visiting Donegal Town, Ballybofey, Glenveagh National Park, Lough Eske, Golfing, Fishing and Pony Trekking. The Famous Public House “Biddys O Barnes”, is within walking distance.
My Wife and Myself were so happy with The Gap Lodge, so before leaving, we booked a return visit. We learned afterwards that quite a few of their visitors return again to this Gem among the Hills of Donegal, that alone, speaks for itself!
I can very strongly recommend The Gap Lodge to anyone who is considering a scenic stopover but wants to stay outside town limits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
4.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
794 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 44 in Donegal Town
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gap Lodge

Address: The Lodge The Lodge The Lodge Barnesmore Gap, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minute drive from Donegal Town, Harvey's Point Hotel and Solis Castle Hotel. Our spacious family-run home is on the Letterkenny & Ballybofey Road N15, left side. Credit Cards accepted. Breakfast Menu available with home baking and special diets catered for. Biddy's Famous Pub on our doorstep and a choice of excellent restaurants in nearby Donegal Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing