We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Inviting Gem in the Hills.”
Review of The Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gap Lodge
Ranked #12 of 45 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many times I have passed by this Family run establishment without staying there so I decided to give it a try. We were greeted with that overwhelming and traditional Donegal Welcome that has by now, become rather famous from this part of Ireland.
First impressions are, the cleanliness and tidiness of the complete premises with absolutely nothing out of place whatsoever. The thought and consideration for visitors is obviously so high on the owners list that we were unable to fault them.
Awakening each Morning with a window view of the Mountains, which are basically just across the Road from you is a dream to most. These Mountains are the start of those that form the great divide known as the Barnesmore Gap.
There is a nicely varied Breakfast Menu which caters for everyone’s tastes. The traditional morning fry is beautifully replaced by the healthy Morning Grill and is delightfully tasteful. No matter what your choice is, there is home made scones and toast with a choice of breads to accompany it.
Our hosts, Sile and Charlie run a well organized Guest Accommodation, which I would compliment as being among the finest run establishments out of the Hundred or so that I have visited in my Lifetime.
Staying here is a marvellous base for Hillwalkers, also it is a great central location for visiting Donegal Town, Ballybofey, Glenveagh National Park, Lough Eske, Golfing, Fishing and Pony Trekking. The Famous Public House “Biddys O Barnes”, is within walking distance.
My Wife and Myself were so happy with The Gap Lodge, so before leaving, we booked a return visit. We learned afterwards that quite a few of their visitors return again to this Gem among the Hills of Donegal, that alone, speaks for itself!
I can very strongly recommend The Gap Lodge to anyone who is considering a scenic stopover but wants to stay outside town limits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was ideal stop on our end to end Ireland cycle in the midst of a heatwave. Sheila the host made the stay - very warm welcome, seemed genuinely interested in people. Many repeat visitors and not surprised. We had a room towards rear of house away from main road. Important for this evening as needed all windows open. The road quietened down however and most of year windows would be shut. Nice louge areas to sit it. Breakfast huge - great fuel for remainder of our trip to Malin Head. Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights on our 20 day tour of All of Ireland. Sheila met us with her hilarious personality! Gave us voucher discounts for a lovely dinner an recommended sites to see. Her husband arranged for 2 of us to play golf at his club while 2 of us toured Donegal Town; toured the castle right in the middle of town. She let us use a dinning table to play cards; would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sominex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a great stay. Cozy rooms, super breakfast and Sile is a fantastic host. Was not my first stay and it will be not my last. Close to town and the great North. A great country Pub is just around the corner and the gap lodge is the perfect place to stay when you wanna stay around Lough Eske and Donegal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed in to date. We arrived late on a Friday evening, but our host greeted us warmly. The rooms were big, comfy, and warm. There was also tea, coffee and chocolates in the rooms... a warm welcome indeed! An electric heater and an electric blanket were also available, something which we have never encountered in any other B&B.

Breakfast was excellent. Apart from the usual choice of cereals, fruit, juices and yoghurts, there was also a selection of homemade breads, scones, pancakes and jams. Although one can opt for the traditional Irish breakfast, other options include scrambled eggs, and salmon. We went for the savoury scramble and we couldn't have done a better choice... it was delicious!

Looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vjaggatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, lovely rooms, ultra friendly welcome and a fantastic breakfast. And such a great welcome for Deisel my big dog and lovely to have someone take the time to make sure he felt welcome and at home.

Looking forward to the next time...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feather-bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having stayed in many B&Bs and hotels there are none quite like the Gap Lodge. Close to Donegal Town and the beautiful Barnesmore Gap, The Gap Lodge offers a great place for a night's kip or stay with beds so comfy you would nearly not want to leave! A wonderful B&B with a great breakfast to start the day and so close to lovely scenery and town for all that you could possibly need and more. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a break in Donegal or even those looking for somewhere nice to stay on a trip away.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
14.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
432 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#3 of 45 in Donegal Town
240 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Bridges Bed and Breakfast
The Bridges Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 45 in Donegal Town
58 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ard na Breatha
Ard na Breatha
#5 of 45 in Donegal Town
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gap Lodge

Address: Letterkenny & Ballybofey Road N15 | Ardnawark, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $59 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minute drive from Donegal Town, Harvey's Point Hotel and Solis Castle Hotel. Our spacious family-run home is on the Letterkenny & Ballybofey Road N15, left side. Credit Cards accepted. Breakfast Menu available with home baking and special diets catered for. Biddy's Famous Pub on our doorstep and a choice of excellent restaurants in nearby Donegal Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing