We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and friendly host”
Review of The Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gap Lodge
Ranked #11 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very warm and friendly host”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was ideal stop on our end to end Ireland cycle in the midst of a heatwave. Sheila the host made the stay - very warm welcome, seemed genuinely interested in people. Many repeat visitors and not surprised. We had a room towards rear of house away from main road. Important for this evening as needed all windows open. The road quietened down however and most of year windows would be shut. Nice louge areas to sit it. Breakfast huge - great fuel for remainder of our trip to Malin Head. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights on our 20 day tour of All of Ireland. Sheila met us with her hilarious personality! Gave us voucher discounts for a lovely dinner an recommended sites to see. Her husband arranged for 2 of us to play golf at his club while 2 of us toured Donegal Town; toured the castle right in the middle of town. She let us use a dinning table to play cards; would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sominex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a great stay. Cozy rooms, super breakfast and Sile is a fantastic host. Was not my first stay and it will be not my last. Close to town and the great North. A great country Pub is just around the corner and the gap lodge is the perfect place to stay when you wanna stay around Lough Eske and Donegal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed in to date. We arrived late on a Friday evening, but our host greeted us warmly. The rooms were big, comfy, and warm. There was also tea, coffee and chocolates in the rooms... a warm welcome indeed! An electric heater and an electric blanket were also available, something which we have never encountered in any other B&B.

Breakfast was excellent. Apart from the usual choice of cereals, fruit, juices and yoghurts, there was also a selection of homemade breads, scones, pancakes and jams. Although one can opt for the traditional Irish breakfast, other options include scrambled eggs, and salmon. We went for the savoury scramble and we couldn't have done a better choice... it was delicious!

Looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vjaggatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, lovely rooms, ultra friendly welcome and a fantastic breakfast. And such a great welcome for Deisel my big dog and lovely to have someone take the time to make sure he felt welcome and at home.

Looking forward to the next time...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feather-bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having stayed in many B&Bs and hotels there are none quite like the Gap Lodge. Close to Donegal Town and the beautiful Barnesmore Gap, The Gap Lodge offers a great place for a night's kip or stay with beds so comfy you would nearly not want to leave! A wonderful B&B with a great breakfast to start the day and so close to lovely scenery and town for all that you could possibly need and more. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a break in Donegal or even those looking for somewhere nice to stay on a trip away.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure a great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was on a five-day cycling challenge along that famous Irish cycling route- Mizen Head to Malin Head. We were coming through Donegal between Donegal town and Ballybofey. Just before the beautiful Barnes Gap we came upon "Gap Lodge". It was getting dark and time to stop for the night. We knocked on the door and were greeted by Sile who said "No problem, Come on away in out of the cold", in that lovely Donegal accent. What a find!! An amazing tiled hallway lead to bedrooms that were a joy to behold after a hard days cycling. Comfortable and spotlessly clean throughout. After a great night's sleep breakfast did not disappoint either. You have to try Sile's savoury scrambled eggs if you ever go there. They are to die for!
Its on the main road between towns but if you fancy a quiet drink in the evening without driving into town the famous "Biddy Barnes" pub is just a short walk up the road. You're guaranteed a good Donegal welcome there too.
We enjoyed our overnight stay so much we stopped off there again the following night on our way back from Malin Head.
Keep it going Sile. I will definitely be coming back your way again.

Room Tip: Just tell Sile what you want and she'll sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
3.9 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#5 of 42 in Donegal Town
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drumcorroy House B&B
Drumcorroy House B&B
#8 of 42 in Donegal Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gap Lodge

Property: The Gap Lodge
Address: The Lodge The Lodge The Lodge Barnesmore Gap, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Minute drive from Donegal Town, Harvey's Point Hotel and Solis Castle Hotel. Our spacious family-run home is on the Letterkenny & Ballybofey Road N15, left side. Credit Cards accepted. Breakfast Menu available with home baking and special diets catered for. Biddy's Famous Pub on our doorstep and a choice of excellent restaurants in nearby Donegal Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing