We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!! Couldnt ask for anything better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect!! Couldnt ask for anything better!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I travelled with my girlfriend on motorcycle to Donegal. I had been recommended the waters edge b&b by others. we stayed one night.
The B&B is so peaceful, picturesque and is right on the waters edge. The rooms are clean and modern. The owner is very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was beautiful. You have access to complimentary tea/coffee and hot chocolate all the time in the breakfast room. It is only about 5 minutes walk into the town centre. (We walked in to the town and had a meal in ''The Harbour Restaurant'' which was lovely).
There is a super valu shop about 3 minutes walk from the B&B.

Perfect B&B, will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Donegal Town for one night. Waters Edge B&B was beautiful with a fantastic view right on the waters edge. Good location, only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Great hospitality from Marie, really friendly and welcoming. The room was really nice and modern with a large en suite. The breakfast was great. Would definitely return and would recommend it. The Old Castle Bar is a really nice bar, great for a pint and excellent bar food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed here in August, 2010 and found it to be a beautiful modern B&B with a terrific owner - Maria. The rooms are all newly decorated, clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast in the lovely breakfast room was fantastic - a fruit plate that should appear in a culinary magazine.
This B&B is a short distance from the town but far enough away to be quiet. The neighbors in the 15th century cemetary next door didn't bother us a bit! We'd go back in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The "Waters Edge" is really an appropriate name for this B&B. A beautiful, spotless and stylishly decorated house, right on the edge of the lake. Excellent location, ample private parking and a short pleasant walk into town. Marie is a very good host. The bedrooms are very nice, but can do with some more storage space.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Marie McGowan’s modern, yet homey B&B was fantastic. She made our party of nine feel right at home immediately. All rooms were large and impeccably decorated with comfortable beds and bright bathrooms. Marie’s breakfasts were yummy and filling. She gave us good advice and was a marvelous host. The Waters Edge sits on the Donegal Harbour inlet and has the most amazing views. Marie’s garden is a beautiful and comfortable spot to relax with your favorite beverage and look out over the water. It’s adjacent to Donegal Abbey and less than a 10 minute stroll into town. We paid €600 for 2 nights – a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed in this B&B for four days recently. We were impressed from when we arrived. The house is surrounded by the most fantastic views. The bedrooms have I would say just been re-decorated. They were clean and very modern. We were given clean towels every day. Each room had it own TV and ensuite. There was a huge choice of breakfast and Tea and Coffee were available in the dining room all day! (Being a big tea drinker this was a huge plus for me). The B&B is about a 5 minute walk from Donegal Town. I will definetly be returning here for another stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisabelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
4.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Water's Edge Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Glebe | The Glebe, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marie McGowan has been welcoming guests into her home in this idyllic location on the shores of Donegal Bay since 1991.This spacious, modern town house is delightfully situated beside the historic old Abbey of Donegal Town [est.1474] and is surrounded to the South & West by the waters of Donegal Bay. From here, it is just a mere 5 minute walk into the centre of town.Marie takes great delight in pampering her guests, with her speciality breakfast of locally caught salmon, smoked and served with all the trimmings. Other options include her perfectly cooked full Irish fry, freshly prepared fresh fruit platters and her own unique style of porridge (family recipe).The Water’s Edge is an approved establishment of Bord Failte Ireland. • All rooms en suite • All rooms have TV/Electric Blankets/ Hair Dryers • Tea & Coffee making facilities are also available • Overlooking Donegal Bay & 15th Century Abbey Ruins • Quiet, peaceful location yet within 5 minutes walk of town centre.Not only do visiting guests leave The Water’s Edge feeling completely satisfied, but the ducks & swans who spend their time lazily drifting up and down the Bay are well catered for too! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing