We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular walk along the lough to the castle”

Glenveagh National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Spectacular walk along the lough to the castle”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

You can catch a bus to the castle and back to the visitor centre, the walk along the lough to the castle is a great sight. I would definitely go back to explore the national park further (as we were limited for time). The coffee shop at the castle is very good as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mumble_Swerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    76
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The heart of Donegal”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went here in April.
What an amazing place.
Free if you park and walk, a few Euro if you take the bus.
The National Trust in the UK have got it all wrong, take a leaf from the Glenveagh book.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VeedonFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pure gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Visited this over Easter, couldn't recommend it enough, very helpful staff and stunning surroundings. Definitely recommend as a must see in Donegal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wild & Wonderful”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Glenveagh National Park is a wild and wonderful spot; it really showcases some of the best of what the Irish countryside has to offer, and it really deserves to be much better known about. You'll park at the visitors centre which is on the edge of the park and from there you can choose to take the shuttle-bus up to the castle or to walk along the lakeside. The walk is superb and gives you great views but it is a distance and you want to gave enough energy afterwards to explore the castle grounds; so maybe bus it there and then walk back, which is we did and it suited us perfectly. The gardens around the castle are a mixture of formal and wild, and there's a variety of different walkways, including some that take you to nearby summits, where the views out across the valley are fantastic. The castle itself is of course also very worth exploring. A highly recommended day out with something to offer for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walking away from the crowd”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On Monday 21st April 2014 my wife and I entered the visitor centre at Glenveagh National Park in Donegal. First off we took the short loop walk inside (length 50m, duration 1 hour). Two lovely brewed coffees and sparkle and helpfulness from the girl serving us, qualities as plentiful as they are special in this part of Ireland.

OK time to get started. We took the walk that goes down to the lake (Lough Beagh), leading to Glenveagh Castle and then further along the lake and then beyond it deep into the valley, a total distance of 11km making a 22km return trip.

We are two people always drawn to the wild, the quiet, the mystical. The photos I attach here try to convey some of this in imagery.

Beyond the castle we leave most of the crowds and hear only the water lapping up from the lake. We are shielded on either side by towering mountain ridges, interesting deciduous trees and a path that winds on and on, round and up, down and over, presenting us with ever changing sensory delights.

An old cottage left vacant beside the river would have attracted Henry Thoreau as he sought haven in the wilderness. Mountainsides not over grazed by sheep still had their ample cover of varied vegetation. Little streams darting down hills under our path and into the river and lake. A sprinkle of chestnut trees with green foliage blossoming in April ahead of all the others. A tree has fallen and lies dying while the other trees stand still as if mourning and yet celebrating natural life and death. We sit now and again to do just nothing, just letting it all in.

We come upon a very old ruin, a settlement long vacated by locals who were expelled to Australia by the landlord over a century earlier. We sense the sadness and know the trees know and the water murmurs stories to painful to hold.

AS we go further into the valley, we leave the lake behind. Tarmacadam has given way to track. We now are in a timeless place, looking like it did 200, 300 years ago as monks travelled this way in meditation.

As we turn to come back to the Visitor Centre we are quiet and know we have been though a special time in a special place. Back near base there are plenty of young families, young people on bicycles, elderly couples strolling and another friendly coffee ... oops second one to-day!!

to sum up Glenveagh serves up more than a visitor centre. It lets you off and out into the wild too and then you can return as we always do, to the life we live.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LiamScollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenveagh National Park also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
County Donegal, Ireland
 
County Donegal, Ireland
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to Glenveagh National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing