We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so coooooooo lllllllll ddddddddd”
Review of Malin Head

Malin Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so coooooooo lllllllll ddddddddd”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

being from cork southern ireland,when we visted derry and donegal for a few days i had to go to the furtherest point of ireland to see what we could see,this is a wild spot this time of year so bring wet gear and warm clothing,view wasnt great as it was raining but a wortwhile visit all the same.there is a lovely curosity shop on right hand side comming back down,a must see place and owner will tell you all you need to know and what to see in the area,tourist information at its best,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    69
    17
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Next stop, Scotland”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you ask me, if you're in Ulster, you're really kind of committed; a really good trip can't be just puttering around the middle of things - you need to hit a few extreme boundaries. A go-no-further, complete stop, dead end.

And that is Malin Head. You run out of Ireland here.

Now, given that northern Ireland is generally a little stark and rough-and-tumble, Malin Head - and the voyage to get there - is positively bleak. In the greatest possible way.

I was fortunate enough to get there in normal Irish weather - grey and windswept and grumpy - and all of those traits were magnified standing out at the top of Eirie's North Atlantic. I've seen pictures taken by other travelers of the area in fine, sunny weather, and it is lovely that way... but, to me, that's probably not as satisfying. Standing out there with the wind lashing equal amounts of icy brine and rain in your face while trying to knock you backwards brings to life all of those songs of Ireland's doomed sailors -

"Ooh me lurves gone tae sea, an will never return because the Atlantic is a rat-bustard.."

Is it ever; a crashy, bleak, unremitting, unrelenting wild beast that will gobble your boat and make people write songs about you. It's absolutely glorious, in a homicidal way. Painting it up with blue skies and sunshine takes all the teeth out of it.

Of course, being there is only half the fun. No - less than half the fun. If you look on an atlas, you'll see that the whole of the peninsula is the one of the few areas of the country not blessed with a National road. It's all Regionals, and, as seems to be the habit, the further in you go, the more narrow they get. They start out with two lanes, go down to one lane, and end up as "Holy Jesus, please don't let anybody come south until I reach the next diamond" half-a-goat-track.

And until you've been down THOSE roads, you haven't seen Ireland. It is an area lost in time, the same now as it was a hundred years ago, give or take a Volvo or two. It is undisturbed in the best sense, and one gets the impression it wants to stay that way. It doesn't want a Supermacs. It doesn't need an Aldi.And frankly, it doesn't particularly welcome you either, gentle tourist. Graffiti-ing up the EIRE aerial marker with "FRED WUZ HERE" writ in white stones you've collected...

So it does its best to be as inaccessible as possible.

But.. to those with stout hearts, a good GPS, and a polite and respectful bearing, Mailin IS Ireland. You can spend a week in Dublin and two hours in Malin, and Malin is what you will bring home with you in your heart. So - two things to remember:

1) Get there, if you dare.
2) Dare.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning natural beauty, lovely, warm people”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Farren's Bar has been amazing for decades. Family owned, kind and authentic. There are beautiful views around every turn, and it's not crowded or cheesy. It's just ruggedly beautiful. There's a nice beach just past the main "town" of malin head-past the church and school and crossroads. We've had luck buying fresh lobster from the fishermen on the docks off the boats. Incredible!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We headed to Main Head while staying in the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel (see review) and it took about 25 mins to get there. We went at dusk/sunset and my husband and I were just speechless!
The drive up to Malin Head is an adventure in itself, getting to see the true Ireland. When there, make sure you wrap up warm if you go in the winter.
What I loved the most is the fact that it is such an important place for Ireland, yet it is not commercialised or made into a big tourist attraction - it is just what it is.
If we had been thinking, we would have went a little earlier and walked around, but it was dark and unsafe at the time we went.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inishcrone, Ireland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Malin revisited”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I came back because of the feeling I get when standing next to the ocean here just the other side of the Malin Head Fishermen's Co op. Wonder down to the beach here and get the mere power of the sea. Breathtaking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malin Head also viewed

Clonmany, County Donegal
 
County Donegal, Ireland
Portsalon, County Donegal
 

Been to Malin Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing