We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riversdale Country House B&B
Ranked #23 of 286 County Donegal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Sharon provided us with one of our favorite B and B experiences during our 3 week visit in Ireland. Her house was designed to incorporate the guest bedrooms as a separate wing and is beautiful. Our bedroom looked out over a peaceful pastoral scene. Breakfast was stunning, we seemed to be full on the extras before we started on the main course, and Sharon convinced us that she truly loved welcoming people into her home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredandMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was one of our favourite Bed & Breakfast during our motorcycle tour of Ireland. The grounds were beautiful. Sharon was simply awesome. She made us feel warm and welcomed from the start. Her husband Wilson was just as welcoming too. The rooms were great...clean and comfortable. Washroom was spacious and toiletries were adequate. We stayed for 2 wonderful nights. Breakfast was excellent.

If they were free either Sharon or Wilson would drive you to town and it's only a 5 Euro ride back. If you prefer walking it's about a mile give or take.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Riversdale Country House and glad we had a chance to ride around the Inishowen Peninsula.

Thank you Sharon & Wilson.

Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skaramoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The pluses and negatives about staying at this Country House.
Just spent 3 nights with my wife at Riversdale. The drive up to the house was picturesque and to be met by Sharon with a warm welcome. Brought to our room,5 star with a breathtaking view. Invited down for fresh coffee home made scones and cakes. Made feel so welcome. Great nights sleep. Not a sound. Great location for the surrounding area. If you looking food Butterbean and Simpsons are top notch and very reasonable. Breakfast was just amazing. Everything you could wish for and more. We arrived back one evening and were invited to have coffee and cake with Wilson and Sharon. Felt very at home. This is by far the best guest house we have stayed in. A great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful innishowen area.
Now the negative. We had to leave. We will be back. Thanks Wilson, Sharon and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

situated just couple minutes outside Carndongh. Accommodation cosy, very clean, spacious, breakfast great and the family which run it so friendly. The grounds the the newly built house is in, lovely. On a warm summers night after a long days driving just sit a picnic table and have a glass of wine and a takeaway. Bottom line great place to stay. they can advise u on eating places, attractions. we ate in Simpsons Bar and Restaurant. Large portions. We had intended to eat at Butterbean but it was closed bout 9 being a Sunday. But Simpsons didnt disappoint. Large portions. Being late we have 5 starters between two. Malin Hotel nice place to run down to for a drink at night and Carndonagh pubs, very friendly. Great relaxing break. would definitely say at Riversdale again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

No doubt, this is best B&B we ever stayed on our holidays. Beautiful spacious bedroom, nice and plentiful breakfast, lovely family looking after us and helping us to find attractions we were looking for. This nice farm house was surrounded by farm animals and friendly dog. We hoped we could have stayed here longer and not to rush on next destination. This place is fab!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Of the several B&Bs we visited in Ireland, this is probably the best one to date. This 19th century house built among acres of land , set back away from the main road, has been renovated in style. the decoration is immaculate, the bedroom impeccable, the bathroom of luxury standard worthy of a five star hotel. All this is matched by Sharon' s warm sense of hospitality and friendliness, so typical of Ireland. A lovely cream tea was with scones was offered to us when we arrived and breakfast was served in the family porcelain plate set. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I traveled with my adult nieces and we all agree that this B&B was one of
our favorites. The setting is beautiful. It is a very modern home with spacious rooms and
large ensuite baths. The breakfast was delicious! They served cooked to order food with a wonderful self serve fruit salad. The dining table was set with lovely china.
The family was lovely and were very helpful with information. We had never been to Donegal before, and it is beautiful!
You would be wise to book this place, you would not be sorry!
Maureen

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these County Donegal hotels
6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,978 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
979 reviews
17.3 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
687 reviews
21.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale Country House B&B

Address: Carndonagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 286 B&Bs / Inns in County Donegal
Price Range: $96 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riversdale Country House B&B is set in the heart of the beautiful Inishowen peninsula. It is a carefully restored farmhouse with amazing attention to detail, set in the midst of idyllic countryside. You will enjoy warm hospitality on a working farm. Hearty country breakfasts and luxurious accommodation will make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riversdale Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing