We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Lurgybrack Open Farm
Ranked #49 of 206 things to do in County Donegal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a new pet farm which my husband and I discovered in Letterkenny two weeks ago while holidaying with our 2 children. This farm was excellent value for money and the outdoor play area for kids was fantastic. They have an indoor area for birds, rabbites, guinea pigs, chipmunks and a large outdoor area which has pigs, bores, a lama. There is also a small tea room and the staff there were very nice and came out in the rain to show my children how to use the large tyre slide. I will definetly be going back and am delighted we found this attraction as we visit Letterkenny quite often.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Can't understand why anyone would give this place a bad review my children love it and brought a picnic and stayed all day so much to see and do. Loved all the new attractions this year and find it excellent now with the swingfor the wheelchairs meaning special needs schools can take their pupils and they can enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmabo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    15
    6
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Kids Loved it! Great for families with young children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Myself, my wife and our kids (aged 6 4 and 1) visited this place last Sunday.

The family entrance price at 20 Euro turned out to be very good value.

There was an interesting selection of animals to see. A few different breed of pigs, A breed of hairy cattle, horses and ponies, llamas, chickens, ducks geese, emu's, and more. Its also worth saying that the animals looked very well looked after, with plenty of space and looked very contented.

There is a pleasant nature walk and the place was clean and well kept.

The kids loved the outdoor play area. This was the real star of the show for our kids. There was loads to keep them busy for a few hours, zip lines, a waterslide, a climbing wall and trampolines, A tree house, as well as all the usual playground stuff.
And there are plenty of picnic tables around the playground area so don't be afraid to bring your own picnic.

There is an indoor play area if its raining with a bouncy castle and slide.

Its open seven days a week... We had the place to ourselves on Sunday morning with a few other families. By the time we left on Sunday afternoon it was getting busy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank niallgilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kids loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden gem of a place. We visited as one our kids had a school trip here.
It was great. €20 for a family pass. Which give you unlimited play time.
There is great selection of animals. About a 40 min walk.
Then the play park is great. Lots to keep the wee ones happy for hours. Also, the indoor area with pool tables, bar football, air hockey and bouncy castle (all free) are perfect on a rainy day.
Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinmcdaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great activities to be enjoyed by kids and adults, a good variety for different age groups and the animals are an added bonus!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlene79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went to lurgybrack farm with my 3 children last week and I can safely say keep your hard earned money. The park is sub standard, the air hockey has no air coming out of it, the pool tables are about 50 years old, and the staff were anything but child friendly. The man with the dirty grey beard driving the children around in a tractor with the children sitting in cut out barrels has to seriously reconsider his line of profession. Someone who is ignorant and has no patience with children should not work in a children's park. We all thought we would spend the whole day there but after a half an hour we couldn't wait to get out of the place and either could the children as there was really nothing there to do. Seriously, take your children and family somewhere else that will appreciate your custom.

Helpful?
9 Thank Dermot1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lurgybrack Open Farm also viewed

Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Dunkineely, County Donegal
 
Glencolmcille, County Donegal
 

Been to Lurgybrack Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing