We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals we have ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacques

Jacques
Ranked #60 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: Locally sourced food cooked with passion served by friendly staff. Coffee & in house baking from 10. Lunch 12-4. Tapas from 5.30 Thursday-Saturday. A la carte/ early dinner from 5.30. Pie & Vino from 5.30 Tuesday & Wednesday. Our wine list offers the same ethos as our food, made by independent producers. We also have an extensive craft beer menu & full bar license.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visit Jacques once or twice a year and we like the atmosphere - especially since they have extended it to include a Taoas bar. There was a lovely buzz and happy atmosphere during our visit last week. My meal was outstanding - Muscles & Choritzo in tomato & garlic, Rib Beef to share (probably the best beef I have ever tasted), being January I resisted the dessert!! The staff were so helpful and pleasant. I can truly recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fintoncork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    102
    39
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Fantastic! Beautiful lunch followed by coffee and cake! Comfortable and relaxing! Definitely recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had a wonderful experience in jacques restaurant while on a trip home recently . There were 6 of us in our party & jacques was heaving the same night . I had a really tasty Crab Pasta with chilli, lime & a hint of cream, it was delicious. I followed that with a haunch of Venison, sliced, cooked rare with celeriac purée , roast root veg and a little juice- it was soo tasty! All our party loved the food mixed between Scallops with Risotto, Monkfish with Ballyhoura Mushrooms, and some had pheasant, which they loved . Even though the restaurant was very busy & noisy the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back home & visit Jacques again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbyk1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant full on Saturday nit so has Tapas at front of house. 3 tapas between 2 people was loads, had potatoes and chorizo, monkfish stew and beef slider (so tasty and spicy) washed down with a couple of glasses of Rioja. Had the desert to share. Simply perfect for what we wanted. Staff lovely and friends even tho very busy. If in Cork do give it a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annierobDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“went there twice- in 2 days- the best food, nice people and reasonable- highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

what a great restaurant- the owner is fabulous- people are so friendly- food is fabulous. Right near our hotel (The Imperial) and we could not be happier!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques also viewed

 

Been to Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing