We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok, expected more from the reviews”
Review of Strasbourg Goose

Strasbourg Goose
Ranked #15 of 637 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was ok, expected more from the reviews”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I had the fishcakes and they were cold and not very tasty. I had the ribeye which was nice with blue cheese and red onion. The desert we shared was raspberry cheesecake and that was not great.

Helpful?
Thank kerryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    299
    85
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overdue Review of an Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been talking about this restaurant verbally for the last 5/6 years. It is popular with both the people of Cork and tourists alike and has built up some reputation for excellence. Congratulations to Trina and her super team who give excellent food, value, service and choice. Atmosphere amazing always with a great "buzz" It is our family's 1st choice when going out for a meal. Location excellent in the City Centre. House wine reasonably priced. €21 per person for a 3 course meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“top class”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

just had a family celebration dinner here last evening.€21 per person for starter, main, dessert and coffee & a bottle of house red for €15. food was excellent, service was very attentive and the lady who i think was the owner was very much on top of everything. very cosy atmosphere on what was a wet miserable evening outside created by a blazing stove in a recessed fireplace. we will definitely be back again. just make sure you have a reservation as this restaurant is really busy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guest43567u8i90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent menu choice in the 3 course meal for €20, including cooked to perfection fillet/sirloin/rib eye steaks.

The steaks themselves were worth more than the special deal, with an appetising starter menu different from the norm, finished with mouth watering desserts.

I noted people bring their own wine, so its something to enquire about before you go.

Service was attentive, Will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeriCoClareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food at a great price..”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had the set menu for €21...what a bargain! I had gluten free fishcakes to start, himself had garlic mushrooms. Both were very tasty. We both had the rib eye steak with blue cheese sauce for mains. Gratin potatoes with home fries and green beans were very good, my only negative was the mash, I'm not a fan of the piped texture. We had 2 glasses of wine, a beer and 2 coffees, all this for €49 plus a tip! Service was excellent...I'll be back, if I can get a table...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasbourg Goose also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Strasbourg Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing