We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it were bigger inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Strasbourg Goose

Strasbourg Goose
Ranked #15 of 633 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre
luton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If only it were bigger inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great meal. Great attentive staff. The only thing letting the place down was it was not big enough. Very cramped inside. If you want great food at a really good price though...you will overlook this! Quality is worth it. 21 euro for three courses of top notch grub. Bang on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webbo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    297
    85
    39
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice in Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food was really wonderful and at a good value. The €21 three-course meal was excellent. I had the pork medallions and my wife had the hake for main courses. An interesting note here is that unlike on the Continent, they will consider a glass of wine or a beer as the third course. We opted for the dessert as the third course and paid for the wine separately. A totally enjoyable dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Schells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“......The Golden Goose...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having relied on TA for some wonderful info and tips, we decided when visiting Cork to book The Strasbourg Goose ( we had meant to ask why the name, but forgot!). It was a good job we did book because 30 mins later it was choc a bloc at 7pm in the evening. As noted 3 course meal til 10pm for 21 euro, plus 3 euro supplement for the fillet steak.

To use the word fabulous would do them an injustice! We had a real prawn cocktail and chicken liver pate for starters, couldn't fault, very tasty and plenty of it. We then went for the fillet steaks, simply sublime with a choice of sauces and vegetables, again, 10/10. Finishing off with a chocolate brownie and strawberry millefeulle, wow.

The service was both quick and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended, we will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imjustatourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shabby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Service was bad,food was so so,decor dire and toilets (one for chaps and one for Ladies) were dirty and impossible to get into and get out of.Not a pleasant experience at all.More like a greasy spoon than a restaurant and it needs money spending on it and soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a great restaurant! Great menu, large portions, high quality, fantastic staff and cheap prices! Couldn't fault any of it and will be booking again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mel731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasbourg Goose also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Strasbourg Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing