We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round”
Review of Strasbourg Goose

Strasbourg Goose
Ranked #15 of 643 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Kilkee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant but it certainly will not be my last,,we booked a table for four and we were over 20 minutes late,the staff greeted us very warmly even though we were late! The restaurant was very busy,every table was occupied! The food was delicious and very prompt service,the waiting staff couldn't do enough for us ,,one of our party handed a steak back as it wasn't well done and even though she had cut the steak,a new portion of steak was served! The value is exceptional,four three course meals which included 3 steaks,and a fish dish as mains,two cokes and a glass of house wine all for €90.00! This is a must visit while in Cork,,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    301
    87
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry,ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was my first visit to the restaurant with a group on our christmas party,usually i find with christmas being as busy as it is the service and food would normally be of a lower standard for obvious reasons,i was therefore delighted and suprised to find that this didnt appear to be the case here,the service was fast,friendly and the staff were incredibly obliging and i couldnt get over the quality of food and value for money. i will def be making a return visit here and firmly believe it will become my go to restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We decided to try this restautant based on previous Tripadvisor comments. We did not have a booking and called to the restautant at 6pm on Sunday 16th December. It was full of Christmas shoppers like us. The lady at front of house said it could be an hour before a table would be free. She asked for my mobile number and said if we liked to wait in a local bar or go for a walk that she would ring us. 15 mins later we got a call and next thing we knew we were seated in this lovely restaurant. It was the start of a wonderful meal - the very reason why people should dine out. And all this for €20 per person for 3 wonderfully varied and tasty courses. The service was so friendly, the food was sooooo sooooo tasty we can't wait to go there again - and we will definately go there again. Top marks. And additional thanks to the lady at front of house who made the generous offer to ring us - and then did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeavisButthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“culinary tour”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Lived passed its high reputation, earthy whole food delivered in perfect gastronomic bliss. Last minute escape from the rain soden festival bonanza of expected gifting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culinary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dining experiences you can have!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a repeat visitor to the restaurant, felt it was high time to submit a review.

Each visit has always been nothing but hugely enjoyable, with great value for money despite such great tasting food!!

This is one you would find yourself returning to again and again for the food, value, and overal atmosphere with such a friendly welcome from management and staff. One of the best in Cork certainly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuruRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasbourg Goose also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Strasbourg Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing