We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Gourmandises

Les Gourmandises
Ranked #68 of 625 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $148
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was suggested by a friend to visit this restaurant, and I went for a Sunday lunch.
The service was great, the wine amazing and I have eaten the most tasteful lunch in Cork ever. The starter, the main course and the dessert was equally amazing.
After this experience, I will definitely go back.
The restaurant has a warm atmosphere, I will suggest it for couples in particular. It might seem a bit expensive, but in my opinion it's worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairy_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    77
    34
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not sure how I had never heard of this restauant but WOW. We had the most wonderful meal EVER here for my birthday. The restaurant is cosy and the tables are a little close but the food is absolutely amazing - the presentation is beautiful, the food flavours and combinations are sensational and the staff are incredibly attentive. You have to try the tasting plates to get a true experience of what this wonderful gem has to offer. Definitely my number 1 restaurant in Cork ... Well done everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank . .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nearly fine dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The entree, a complex dish with egg was amazing. As the main course I fancied was not available I chose a beef in red wine casserole with mash. Both were far too salty. The cheese to follow was ok, not special. We chose the wine (white) as the hoped for main course was fish and as it was opened enjoyed it with beef. Red would have been far better.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickerdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drimoleague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just one more step!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I visited Les Gourmandises for the first time on Friday night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was excellent, the service attentive without being intrusive,the atmosphere highly conducive to a pleasant dining experience and last but not least excellent value for money. I believe that the variety of choices and the superb presentation and quality of the food are on a par with the Michelin starred Dublin restaurants Chapter One and L'Ecrivain. I was somewhat disappointed,however, that a restaurant of this standard did not present Amuse Bouche or serve homemade Petit Four with the coffee. The bread served at the start of the meal was also excellent but the broken wicker basket in which it was served and which was immediately noticeable, somewhat detracted from the overall effect.
The comments above obviously in no way detract from the standard of the food or our enjoyment and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I love going to Les Gourmandises. Soizic is a fantastic hostess - she knows her stuff and the service is attentive but never overbearing. The food is always stunning and delicious. Early bird deals are the best value in Cork esp considering the superb quality of the food. Best restaurant in Munster by a long mile, awards all well deserved. We'll be back soon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Gourmandises also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Les Gourmandises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing