We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Nakon Thai - Douglas - CLOSED

Nakon Thai - Douglas
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Dreadful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have eaten here many times and the food is good but the service is always lethargic. However, we have just had a dreadful experience ordering a takeaway. Quoted 20min wait, which turned out to be over an hour! No apology from staff, who clearly lack any customer service training. Ruined our evening, extremely disappointed with quality of service. Will not be returning as a customer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    9
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Myself and my husband had dinner at Nakon Thai this evening. The restaurant was so busy when we arrived - nonetheless we were greeted with such charm it was a delight. We ordered the mixed starter to share - a king prawn red thai curry and a spicy beef dish. The food was absolutely divine - with just the correct amount of spice. I really don't think we have ever eaten such gorgeous Thai food. It was tasty - yet refreshing - utter perfection. We had 2 glasses of wine plus really good quality coffees to finish. When we were leaving the restaurant we met the Head Chef - a very nice quiet unassuming lady. She discussed Thai cooking at length with us and gave us a few tips. We were totally blown away when she gave us 2 tins of her speciality coconut milk to try at home. This was both unexpected and unnecessary.

In a nutshell - food and service in Nakon exceeded our wildest expectations. It is a long the since we experienced such high quality food and service.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
226 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Love the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant. The food is authentic Thai and of a very high quality.

The prices are very reasonable for food of this quality

The staff are always friendly and the device is typically good

It's a great option for either sit down or take away

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Superb Take Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just enjoyed a really great take away from Nakon Thai in douglas. Ordered online, arrived at specified time and food was pipping hot. First take away from there and was really impressed, will definately be ordering again and paying the restaurant a visit on next night out in Douglas.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juneygogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Premium supermarket ready meals are better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Chunky chipper batter on prawns, tepid/mild massaman with thin sliced chicken - all very average. Not worth the money and I'm afraid that's a once only visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazzOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakon Thai - Douglas also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing