We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit off centre, but everything is provided”
Review of Mariaville House

Mariaville House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariaville House
Ranked #32 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit off centre, but everything is provided”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not the easiest to find, but all is forgotten once you get there. Barry knows Cork by heart and can direct you to many interesting places and sights to see. Getting to Cork centre takes approx. 15 minutes on foot, but you can take the route through the university campus. They know how to enjoy life and inspire you to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
20
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This had been a great stay for us and looking forward to staying there again next year. The B & B is ideally located as it is only a 15 minute walk to the city center. The Guilfoyle family were extremely helpful in assisting us in our tour of Cork City.
The Irish Breakfast was sumptuous! I would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

After getting lost a few times trying to navigate the Cork area, we finally located Maria Ville House. Barry and Goretti were wonderful. The room downstairs was perfect to we didn't have to lug our luggage upstairs. it was clean and comfortable. Barry made us a wonderful breakfast in the morning and after a great night's sleep we were on our way.

Just what we needed and long recommendations for where to eat that evening and how to get on our way the next morning. Parking right in front was great too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our hosts Barry and Goretti made us so welcome. Our room was excellent and so clean. Breakfast was first class. It is obvious that both Goretti and Barry are into their food. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guilfoyles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Essen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel was a luck for our team. The management was so helpful in every way, and our team of tilers enjoyed their stay very much. The hotel is close to the city, and was convenient for us to reach the work site. The rooms were fine.We would always recommend this hotel again !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieter1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We are from Germany, and Been ca. 3 Weeks in the Maria Ville House!
Its a Nice House with good Rooms and bathrooms!
Its very clean in there and smells good!
A Great breakfast every Morning!
A Parking place for our Big van,directly in Front of the House!
The Family is very friendly and helps us with everything!
I Hope i come back to this House!
Kai

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Maria Ville House, Bed & Breakfast in a lovely neighborhood in Cork. I have nothing but great things to say about Barry and Goretti and there charming house. It was in December and there was a beautiful Christmas tree the great us as we came in the front door, the house was warm, clean and very comfortable. The room was clean, cozy, and had everything we needed. Maria Ville House is definitely a welcome and homey change of pace from chain hotels. The owner has almost 20 years of experience in the hospitality industry, and it shows. The value compared to other lodging options in the area is extremely noticeable.


You are with in walking distance from Lewis Glucksman Gallery, Royal Gunpowder Mills, St Finbarr's Cathedral, Cork University with it beautiful historical buildings, gardens and there are a ton of great restaurants and shops within walking distance. (10 minutes) I would surely stay at the Maria Ville House again. Next time, I would make sure we were able to be in Cork for more than three nights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaGiblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 58 in Cork
1,366 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Mills
#15 of 19 in Cork
4 reviews
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#16 of 58 in Cork
80 reviews
Mardyke
Audley House
Audley House
#10 of 58 in Cork
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaville House

Property: Mariaville House
Address: Marianville Mariaville House Magazine Road Coolgarten Park | Off Magazine Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is a small, family run business. We can assure you of a warm welcome and a lovely and relaxing holiday while staying with us.We have lived in the area most of our lives so we can give you expert and local advice of what to do and see while you are with us.Our breakfast in the morning is not to be missed as this will set you up for the day.We look forward to seeing you at Mariaville house quite soonYour hosts.Barry and Goretti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mariaville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing