We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place I have stayed at in Cork”
Review of Sunmount B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunmount B&B
Ranked #24 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place I have stayed at in Cork”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Paddy and Jane are truly great. I have stayed at several more places in Cork in last 3 weeks and this B&B was my favourite. The place is quiet, the house nice and clean and Paddy makes a perfect breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekkinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
13
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was my second time at Sunmount and I'll surely come back again. It's the best B&B where I ever been in Ireland. Jane and Paddy are so kind, welcome and helpful. It's a pleasure to talk with them and they have always time for a chat! The B&B is very clean, comfortable, lovely and typically Irish. Is not far from the center of Cork: is a short walk and you can have a nice view of the city. The area is quiet and you can sleep very well. Delicious and plentiful breakfast. The owners will kindly welcome you in a beautiful house that has many toilets, new furnished bedrooms and a lot of facilities in the rooms. Therefore I strongly advice you to go there because my time at Sunmount was great!
Chiara and Matteo (Turin).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishPimpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely high-ceilinged Georgian house with fine views of Cork, run by a couple who genuinely seem to enjoy hosting people. Breakfast was perfect, beds were comfortable (I'm 6' 3") and the place generally was tasteful yet relaxed. Trying to think of a negative for the sake of balance but nothing suggests itself. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civezzano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The B&B is in a great location, being only 10 minutes away from the city center (walking distance). The hosts are truly amazing people, they give very good advices, and they are available and willing to help in any way they can (plus they are very funny and they love to chat). The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is awesome !
I would advice anyone who's looking for a B&B in Cork to pick this one as it is a truly awesome B&B !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome from the very beginning of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Paddy and Jane. The room was clean and had plenty of room. A great addition was an armchair in the room that we hadnt found in other B&B's. This allowed for the read of a good book on the odd occassion when the weather was too wet to go out. Paddy and Jane welcomed us to share in their living area and were very oblidging when it came to computer access. Paddy's breakfasts were wonderful and again he was very flexible. The location was great within easy walk of the town centre,bus station and train station. The gardens were beautiful. Aside from all of this, the tariff rates were also excellent.Their knowledge of all the areas around was very good and thanks to Paddy we found some interesting places that we would probably not have found otherwise. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone staying in Cork.Thank you Paddy and Jane

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Having never stayed in a B&B before I didn't know what to expect. However I'm pleased to say that I was made to feel extremely welcome by the hosts. The B&B is in a great location near Cork City Centre which is easily within walking distance. The room was of a good size and the bed extremely comfy! The breakfast in the morning was great. I would diffo stay again and recommend to anyone that wants a great value for money place to stay in cork...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KW1977_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We really had an amazing time in this B & B!!! Perfectly clean,delicious breakfast, incredible nice and humorous owners (thank you again for everything, Jane and Paddy! We´ll definitively be back quite soon!!!!). Without any restrictions we strongly recommand this B & B to everyone! Maria & Inga from Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Kent House B&B
#10 of 58 in Cork
142 reviews
Montenotte
Number Forty Eight
Number Forty Eight
#42 of 58 in Cork
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunmount B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunmount B&B

Property: Sunmount B&B
Address: 1 Sunmount | Military Hill, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small quiet family run B&B set on a hill with nice views and a pretty garden, but only a 10-minute walk to the city centre, bus and train stations. The terraced house is approximately 160 years old and is furnished with some interesting antique items and paintings. Breakfast is standard full Irish, with homemade brown bread, jams & marmalade. The guests all sit around a table where they can socialise and swap holiday gossip. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing