We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Achill House B&B

Achill House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Achill House B&B
Ranked #34 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Torrance California
1 review
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

This B&B is walking distance to the city centre and Fitzgerald Park. My Dad and I took a Father Daughter trip and could not have been more welcomed by Helena and her staff. They were just the nicest people and would do anything to make sure your stay was a good one. I would definitely stay at Achill House again. Also the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    14
    15
    7
See reviews for
18
43
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Very nice B&B (the best we went to). Close to the center of cork. Wonderful Breakfast. A litlle place to park our car. Thanks to the host (a wonderful driver), she drives our car outside

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astro92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergamo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at this lovely B&B for one night on August 8 and it was an excellent experience. The room was clean, spacious and extremely well furnished. The guesthouse is in an excellent position near the City centre.
The breakfast menu is very varied and gives you a great range of choices. Pancakes were to die for! We truly had an excellent stay and would love to stay again at this guesthouse should we happen to come back to Cork.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were passing through Cork on the way from Dublin down to Kerry and really wanted to stay somewhere in the centre of Cork. Having driven round the centre for 10 minutes, we realised that this wasn't going to be possible, so we decided to head out of the centre on the way towards Kerry and see what we found. We'd barely left the centre when we came across a row of half a dozen B&Bs and decided to take a closer look at Achill House. We were warmly welcomed and even offered a reduced rate of 80 euros for the night. Having quickly got showered and changed, we headed off towards the centre of Cork and stopped off at a lovely pub just down the road serving fresh salmon in the beer garden at the back. We returned to the B&B and enjoyed a lovely, peaceful night in the spacious, clean and well equipped room. Breakfast the following morning was served in the bright and comfortable breakfast room, the service was attentive but not pushy. The breakfast buffet wasn't exactly vast, but there was plenty to choose from and there were no problems when we asked for a slightly modified Irish breakfast. All in all, a lovely B&B that I would definitely recommend to friends and am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I had a wonderful time in Cork attending a wedding which was a great experience itself.So friendly are the citizens of Cork and Helena was so helpfull.I was feeling a little underweather due to just flu but could return to my room to sleep more.The homemade soda bread was so good I brought some home with me.I would recomend anyone to checkout Achill House.A short walk from town and so much to see.Clean,Quiet and Great Hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed here for two days with our fourteen-year-old son. Helena McSweeney, the proprietor, is a warm and very friendly person. We had some great conversations with her and felt like friends when we left. The B&B is in a good location, close enough to downtown Cork to walk, but not so close that it is loud. Room was good size. Bathroom quite large with a jacuzzi which I really needed for a pulled back muscle one night. The breakfasts had the most selection and best quality of the three places we stayed in Ireland. The selling point for this B&B, however, is Helena herself. She went out of her way to help us, even letting my husband sit in her kitchen to use his laptop connected to the modem with a wire, as his computer wasn't accessing the wireless. (It was a problem with his computer, not her wireless). We felt welcomed and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portofino
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

Close to the centre of the city. A comfortable room on the top floor: clean, quiet and private. Great breakfasts that filled me up so to be ready to spend an entire day working and walking without needing to worry about hunger pangs! with homemade cookies and brown bread, an unexpected treat. Gracious hostess, would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rivierasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Mardyke
Crawford Guest House B&B
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#15 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Mardyke
Acton Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
No photo provided
Aban Apartments
#40 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill House B&B

Property: Achill House B&B
Address: Carriglee Achill House 2 Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Achill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in luxury and style at Achill House in the heart of Cork City. A warm and relaxed atmosphere awaits the discerning business executive or tourist, combining traditional Irish hospitality with modern comfortable facilities and imaginative cuisine.This elegant period guesthouse has been lovingly maintained and elegantly furnished for your delight and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Achill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing