We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stay here if your car is full” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shandon Bells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shandon Bells
Ranked #41 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Dublin
1 review
“Only stay here if your car is full”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Filthy rooms, paper thin walls, poor parking, water pouring onto table in the dining room, two TV channels, missing light bulbs, peeling wall paper, cobwebs everywhere & no credit or debit card facilities even though advertised. And the neck to charge €60 a night!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnolan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    27
    26
    27
See reviews for
12
61
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I had needed a place to stay for a 2 week period while I was getting my daughter settled to attend UCC. I took the self-catering option and had a lovely new kitchen and large spacious dining room to use in addition to my small but comfortable and clean bedroom which consisted of two twin beds, plenty of drawer & closet storage and a small but newly remodeled ensuite bathroom. The showers had lots of hot water and powerful. I had full use of kitchen which even included a TV to watch while cooking or eating and a dishwasher. The common areas were nicely decorated. The staff were very accommodating, friendly and kind when present. I couldn't have asked for a nicer place for the price and location. My daughter always felt comfortable visiting as well as it was in close proximity to the college. One of the UCC gates was right across the street. I never needed a car the whole time I was there as the train and bus stations are within 30 minute walk. The Sky Link that travels to & from airport has a stop about a block away from the inn. Easy walk to shopping center. The only bad thing was some insects as none of the windows have screens which is common all over ireland. The outside deck that overlooks the tree covered river was nice but had lots of bees. I would definitely want to return. Nice homey place, great location, safe surroundings for a solo traveler

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italy4mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

I stayed here with my friend and I was happy with the room it was what i expected small but was very clean. We had no hairdryer in our room and when asked for it took nearly half an hour to get one also we felt the hostess to find us a nuisance which made us feel uncomfortable. but other than that it was fine but wouldnt stay again if I was in Cork.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleoc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Shandon Bells. We found the owners very friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and our bathroom had a bath as well as a shower.
Breakfasts were superb, and plentiful with lots of choice, including a tasty full Irish breakfast..
We were only a 10 minute walk from town and will definetly stay here again if we return to Cork.

  • Liked — the owners were good fun and very welcoming
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Stayed here on our day in Cork/Blarney. Nice little place and Hillary and her husband were very nice and hospitable. The B&B is charming and what I would think of a home. Welcoming and inviting you in and not just staying there, but also chatting with other people there if you have time. Good location as it is just a couple of blocks to downtown Cork. Now that was an experience in driving. Driving in Ireland is....interesting.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krumdog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed with Hillary and Malachy at their wonderful B&B right in central Cork; And they didn't disappoint! The accommodation is wonderful, Hillary was warm and very welcoming offering lots of advice and tips on where to go and what to see! The great thing about Shandon Bells is it's location conveniently located close to everything.. Our room was extremely comfortable and always clean and the breakfast quality, taste and choice was sensational. During our previous trip Hillary looked after all our family travelling from Australia and she couldn't do enough to make every one of us feel very welcome and it certainly was a home away from home. Hillary was always on hand to assist if we needed anything and ensured everyone was comfortable & happy. If you are looking for accommodation and hosts that are welcoming, sincere and who provide exceptional service & a great breakfast then you will not be disappointed at the Shandon Bells. I can't recommend Hillary and Malachy's home away from home highly enough!

  • Liked — The quality of accommodation and the service provided
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jillcamseam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

Very good option for either business or holiday. Room was clean and comfortable. Appreciated the central heating on a chilly May evening! Good breakfast selection - fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs etc in addition to the usual traditional cooked breakfast. Hilary the owner is very friendly and obliging.
Very convenient location for the University and within walking distance of Cork City. Great vegetarian restaurant close by - Cafe Paradiso. Would stay here again, and have already recommended it to friends and colleagues.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome, location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Mardyke
Achill House B&B
Achill House B&B
#36 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Mardyke
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#14 of 61 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Mardyke
No photo provided
Aban Apartments
#40 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Bells

Property: Shandon Bells
Address: Shandon Bells Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Bells is an exceptional Bed & Breakfast situated on a river bank within Cork City offering a sophisticated urban retreat in almost rural surroundings. 10 beautiful furnished bedrooms supplement the wonderful feeling of the peaceful River Lee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing