We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B! A must-stay in Cork!”
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Who knew the Fernroyd House is more than one house! Three friends and I stayed at the Fernroyd (10/30/13 - 11/1/13) and we were fortunate enough to have an entire house to ourselves a few doors down from the Fernroyd House proper. Tony and Avril were the absolute best hosts. Tony sent us on a great adventure to the Beara Peninsula and suggested a multitude of restaurants and pubs in Cork. Breakfast a Fernroyd is a treat with multiple choices. You will not go away hungry and indeed you may even ask for more -- scones to die for! I promise you will not be dissappointed. Thanks, Tony and Avril for a great Cork experience. I will see you again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_Prefer_To_Fly_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was an absolutely perfect stay. My wife and I stayed just one night (although when we go back to Ireland, we will stay longer) but we had a great room with all the amenities. We stayed in the annex house and had a functional kitchen in the common area. We met a wonderful couple from Australia and really enjoyed hanging around Cork. It's a great location - we made it to both Blarney and Cobh in the same day.

Tony and Avril were incredibly kind hosts and even let us borrow their GPS for our hired car. Their scones were some of the best we've ever had and the homemade breakfast was delicious.

We highly recommend this stop if you are even considering Cork as a destination!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

10/12/13 to 10/14/13

Tony and Avril are excellent hosts and their home is located conveniently to a walk to downtown Cork. They seemed to not be able to do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Scones, hot and fresh from the oven, are served along with the delicious breakfast.
We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary there and they made the occasion very memorable, with a freshly baked cake and excellent recommendations for dinner at the “Serendipity”.

Tony and Avril, thanks so much for a truly wonderful stay, You made us feel soooo special!

Al and Marge

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Al N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome with tea and freshly baked Irish Scones.
Room beautifully appointment and 5star standard. Breakfast so good with all fresh local produce as owner showed us list of suppliers and where to shop for local produce in English Market. Most helpful hosts with directions and good places to eat in evening.
This B &B is worthy of its rating on Trip Advisor. Will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were in Cork to visit our son who attends UCC. Avril and Tony extended the warmest welcome to us and are the most gracious hosts. They offered tea and scones when we arrived and welcomed our son to join us (for breakfast as well!). Tony gave great recommendations for sightseeing, dinner plans and venues for the Cork Jazz Festival. We do recommend Fernroyd House and we will stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanMc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we arrived there was a very nice lady that greeted and took good care of us. Avril and Tony had to be at (I believe their nephew's graduation) when we arrived. This was not an issue for us and upon meeting them at breakfast they were very apologetic for not being able to meet us the night before. This action really solidified their desire to take care of their guests and provide the best stay possible. This was accomplished. We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend staying here. Interestingly enough the owner of our next B&B in another city was familiar with Fernroyd House and the many complements of previous vacationers that have stayed here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BsquaredTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fernroyd House B&B

The moment you arrive at the Fernroyd House and meet Avril, you understand why it is the #1 B&B located in Cork Ireland. You as a traveler get an immediate first, second… and lasting good impression. We arrived just after the other guests had finished breakfast, and were well on their way for the day. I had emailed Avril and Tony that we would arrive early at the Fernroyd House. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Avril who offered us delicious scones and coffee as well as her enthusiastic hospitality. (Thanks again for that, Avril, the homemade scones were delicious and your friendliness, contagious!)

Cork is known as the “city of welcomes”, and Avril did just that! She sat and talked with us as the room was being readied. Before we were shown our room, we felt we had made a new friend who would do anything and everything to make our stay in Cork memorable. She is one smart Corkonian! Chatty, warm, and best of all helpfully convincing. Cork offers so many experiences and we already had so many “must sees” such as Cobh (including St Colman’s Cathedral) and Cork itself, but as we listened to Avril’s suggestions, we enhanced our itinerary and benefited from an even richer experience from an insider’s point of view . We took a walk through UCC, visited Charles Fort and Kinsale, none of which were on our original itinerary. Had we one more day we would have visited Clonakilty too. All this without the use of a car!

Our room was not located in the main house. It was located two or three houses down the street from the main house on the first floor. Across from our room was a huge common area with all the comforts of home, but, however convenient, we didn’t use this area at all. We had too much to see and too much to do. Our room was exceptionally clean and inviting with two comfortable beds, a fireplace, desk and chair, window seat and plenty of room.

We arose a little later than usual because the beds were so comfortable. We met Tony on our second day here at breakfast, and, although no one could ever match the hospitality of Avril, Tony also was attentive and couldn’t do enough to make us feel welcome.

The breakfast room was well-lighted with huge picture windows, a beautiful fireplace, comfortable chairs, and a sign on the door that says “Texan Spoken Here”. How cool is that? That sign made my travel partner who is from Pflugerville Texas, feel right at home, and we snapped a photo of Tony and Avril in front of the door with the Texas sign.

Through French doors, the breakfast room led to a second dining area with comfortable couches and more light from the huge windows. We liked the fresh fruit there too.

The scones, and the huge full Irish breakfast were beautifully presented with delicious meats, eggs, puddings, and even mushrooms and a bowl of beans. We cleaned our plates, and really enjoyed ourselves.

Even the dogs know that the Fernroyd House is the place to be in Cork. When a couple was trying to back their car out of the driveway, they couldn’t move the car because a young neighborhood Labrador had plucked himself down and was co comfortable that he had no intention of moving. It took 4 people plus Avril’s own dog to coax the lab to get up and move just a little bit so that the couple could back out without hurting the Labrador..

Sometimes dogs just know a good thing. See photo, Y’all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonriverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $43 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing