We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed in two rooms at the annex house and enjoyed it because we felt as if we had the whole home to ourselves. The garden in the back is beautiful and perfect for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Avril and Tony couldn't have been better hosts, and the homemade scones were yummy! The B&B is a two minute walk to the UCC campus. Be sure to take a walk through campus. It's also an easy walk to downtown Cork and the pubs (the young adults in our group loved this!). Check your directions before you come -- there are some brand new "flyovers" that bypass some roundabouts that threw off our GPS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imasportsluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    83
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
217
503
51
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just loved this B&B!The house was so cozy and Tony and Avril are just the perfect hosts, always ready to help us with anything!Our room was big and spacious with a view on their garden. Breakfast was excellent with warm scones and jam, sweet french toasts and of course the classic Irish breakfast. The B&B is a 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre. I definitely raccomand Fenroyd House!We felt really at home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveva5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tony and Avril, THANK YOU!

We are sorry our review is so late (we stayed back on April 30th)...but we are here now to rave about your lovely B&B.

We had a lovely, well-appointed and new room in the second house at Fernroyd. There was a beautiful garden out back and the room was clean and fresh. Tony and Avril greeted us on arrival with their little dog (can't remember his name-but he was so cute!)

You are a short walk into downtown Cork in a quiet neighbourhood near the college there. It was maybe 15 mins at the most and the weather was great so we quite enjoyed the walk.

Tony has fantastic knowledge of the city and mapped everything out for us. The only issue we had: not enough time to see everything! We were only here for one night.

We must also commend and brag about Avril's breakfast. Scrumptious! The scones are the absolute best and with the homemade jam. We were spoiled!

This B&B is top-notch from the service to the rooms and location. Thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC_Empire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The owners were very welcoming and offered us fresh coffee and homemade scones on our arrival. They know the area very well and we got some great recommendations for Cork and places around Cork.
The rooms were ok and the city centre is in walking distance from the B&B (roughly 20 minutes if I remember correctly).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2010_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kechi, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a lovely second day stay in Ireland. Tony was ever so ready to show us the sights. Helped
us with our bag. Plenty of off street parking. Room was clean and lovely view of their garden.
It's everything you want in a B&B. Close to the college and town. Breakfasts are wonderful and
we love being able to walk to town from there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Fernroyd House a couple nights on our honeymoon. We were greeted by Avril when we arrived and she immediately had us sit for some coffee and scones. When Avril learned that we didn't know much about the city of Cork, she pulled out a map and showed us where the best restaurants, pubs, and shops are located... every recommendation that we were able to try was every bit as awesome as Avril said it was.

Tony and Avril were very attentive and helpful with anything we needed throughout our stay. The breakfast was really good both mornings we were there and we definitely didn't leave hungry.

The house is nice and within close walking distance (~5-10 minutes) to the city center. We were disappointed that we had to leave, but when it came time to go Avril and Tony insisted upon giving us a ride to the station for the next leg of our trip. If you're visiting Cork and you don't stay at the Fernroyd House, you're really missing out. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can make it back to Ireland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room downstairs right across from the breakfast room. Even though the room is at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tony and Avril couldn't have been nicer! The breakfast was great, they both made good suggestions of where to go/what to do, we appreciated the Garnish Island suggestion, it was a beautiful day! The room was very nice and clean, nice garden view out of window! I wished we stayed longer! Thank you for a great start to our Ireland vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,507 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,601 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Property: Fernroyd House B&B
Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing