We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts, food and rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, food and rooms!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our hosts were such nice, helpful people; they really added to the pleasure of staying here. The breakfast was fantastic!
We traveled in a group of 6 and were able to stay in the 2nd home which is a few doors down from the main house. This was great because it was just the 6 of us in the house for at least a few nights and we had our own living room and kitchen, so it made it feel like home.
The house is about a 10 min walk from the center of town, right next to the university.
Lovely place to stay- definitely stay here when in Cork!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    83
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
204
488
49
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We only got to stay one night. Really wish we could have canceled the rest of our b&b reservations and just stay there as a base. They were so hospitable and charming. Chip, the little terrier, was so sweet and made it feel like home. Tony help plan a more scenic route for the rest of our trip in county kerry. He really took the time to make sure we enjoyed as much of cork region as possible, within the short amount of time we had. They were the highlight of our trip; as far as meeting people and b&b hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowfox83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just had a wonderful one night stay in Fernroyd House BnB. We could have easily spent a week there - there was nothing that the hosts, Tony and Avril, haven't thought of. We had a spacious, modern and very comfortable room, with an excellent en-suite. Breakfast was magnificent, with plenty of choices, hot and cold, and cooked to our order. Yummy! Not the least important, Tony and Avril made us feel very welcome in their house. They are genuinely hospitable people, who would offer to lend you an umbrella on a rainy day and made sure you are loaded with local knowledge before you went out and about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alienalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my second visit to Ireland, and the second stay with Tony and Avril in the past 4 years. Times may have changed but not this fine, friendly, comfortable and homey establishment located next to university of Cork, and a short walk to the pubs, restaurants and shopping downtown.Avril and Tony are wonderful hosts, ensuring a pleasurable stay. Awakening to a home cooked breakfast, plus fruit, cereal, and beverages in the morning is a downright pleasure. The Scones, pancakes, and bacon and eggs were scrumptious. Tony helped arrange for a driver for our own personal family tour. We had 11 in our group and enjoyed our time in Kinsale, the Blarney castle, and the Ring of Kerry.you could not find more considerate pair of hosts. Our family stayed for over a week and had a great time, in no small part due to Avril and Tony.For many reasons this is THE place to stay while in Cork and surrounding areas.
For a reasonable price each room has en suite and wifi. Parking is included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMF888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just returned from a 2 day visit athis beautiful B&B. Tony and Avril made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived with tea and biscuits. Avril helped us make great choices for dinner as well as places to see some good Irish music. Tny was kind enough to even lend his GPS when we went down to Kinsale. The scones were wonderful as was all the food were were served. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapartygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a bit early, but Tony and Avril welcomed us as one would family. The room is nice, but these folk make the place like home. It is a short walk to city center down the river...a delightful experience even on a cold day. The university campus...next door...is beautiful, too. So, the location is quiet and yet not far all you might want to see in Cork. Again, it is all about the friendly hosts...and being #1.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tony and Avril
We had the best time at your B and B. You made us feel at home with the best service ever. My inlaws had never been to a B and B and are now spoiled (in their words). What a nice treat when your daughter made the scones and cream cakes as we arrived in Cork. Tony was a gentleman walking my mother in law (with her new hip) to the Inn for breakfast in the rain. The breakfast was wonderful and Irish in nature. We highly recommend anyone to stay at the Fernroyd House in Cork!
Kelly and Lynn Condon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,426 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Property: Fernroyd House B&B
Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing