We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fernroyd House was our home away from home during our 2 week visit to Ireland and London. We checked in and out three times and stayed in three different guest rooms. All the rooms were beautiful, absolutely spotless, warm, with ensuite bathrooms with fabulous showers. The breakfasts were delicious! Their menu has something to please everyone, we loved the scones and porridge! Wi-Fi, tea in the room, Ireland books to borrow, lovely back garden, and the quiet neighborhood were the perfect place to rest and relax. They are located within easy walking distance of UCC, Fitzgerald Park, The Cork Gaol, Shandon, The English Market, local shops, and The Franciscan Well just to name a few fun places to visit in Cork. Tony and Avril are wonderful hosts, we look forward to our next stay at Fernroyd House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Fernroyd House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very friendly welcome from Tony, who lent us maps and sat-nav! We stayed in the annexe a few doors down from the main B&B- this has a lounge and garden shared between three rooms and its own off street parking. The room was well equipped and very comfortable with one of the best B&B showers we have ever come across. Free Wi-Fi.

Yes, you have to go back to the main B&B for breakfast, but this is only 20 or 30 paces down the road so is no great issue, and the breakfast is certainly worth it- a wide choice. The poached egg with Ballymaloe sauce comes highly recommended. We were also fortunate to arrive just as Avril had completed a new batch of home made scones.

Close to the university, a ten or so minute walk into the city centre.

Will definitely stay here again next time we come to Cork.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April 2013.
The B&B is located very central, in a 10 minutes walking distance from the city center of Cork. Nevertheless the location is very quiet and situated next to a small river. The owner was very friendly and very helpful concerning the sites in town and offered his advice for our tour planning. The room was clean and very comfortable, bathroom ensuite. The breakfast was freshly prepared and cooked with love: You must try the scones!
Fernroyd House is always worth a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascalL278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Fernroyd House B&B for 2 nights during our 10 year anniversary trip to Ireland, and it was so comfortable! We want to go back for a longer stay. Avril and Tony were absolutely wonderful! Tony gave us wonderful suggestions on where to visit and where to eat, and every single suggestion was great! The rooms are very comfortable and beautiful property. The breakfast is so good, we didn't want to stop eating. We will be going back to stay with Avril and Tony again soon. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaL924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just came back from our two night stay at the Fernroyd House. We were traveling through Ireland for our honeymoon and wanted to try a bed and breakfast. I am glad that we chose Cork to do so... Even happier that we chose the Fernroyd House!

Tony and Avril run a great B&B and cannot do enough for the minute you arrive. They are generous and so helpful. Tony gave us much advice(dinner, pubs, day trips, directions), even gave us his GPS for the day, and we were able to enjoy Cork and the surroundings. All of his recommendations were spot on. When we left, Tony even gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon with :) As other reviewers mention, it is about a 15 minute walk into city center. We would walk in the morning and afternoon and take a taxi home in the late evening for about 7 euro.

The rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was delicious, my mouth is watering thinking of the scones! Thank you Tony, Avril and Chippy for a memorable and comfortable stay!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSully11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our party of 3 stayed in a triple room for 3 days - and really enjoyed our visit. Delicious breakfasts - everything on the menu is great! I recommend the french toast! The rooms were clean and restful, but it was our hosts - Tony and Avril - who really make this B&B the best. They were so helpful and friendly - recommended good travel and dining options, and ensured we maximised our trip to Cork, Blarney, Kinsale and Cobh. The B&B is opposite the entrance to Cork Uni - the lovely grounds are worth a stroll, especially to see the ogham stones. The centre of Cork is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naiomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter bank holiday weekend and are writing the review in the airport on the way home so we don't forget! Had such a truly lovely stay with Tony and Avril, nothing was too much trouble and they gave such great advice for where to eat or where to go during our stay. Chippy the dog is very cute too! Our room was lovely and comfortable with everything we needed and the breakfasts were outstanding! Fresh homemade scones every day is something it's going to take a while to get out of the habit of! Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,560 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $42 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing