We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and breakfast.”
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good room and breakfast.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was good, there was wifi and the breakfast was good (we each ordered porridge with Irish cream and honey and a boiled egg). The only things of note were that we stayed on the first floor, so it was a bit noisy in the evening with people coming and going as well as in the morning when breakfast started up. Also, the host seemed to have too much going on when we arrived so while we asked questions about places to go and directions, he kept being interrupted and asking us to wait as he took care of everyone else's requests but ours. I looked at some of the other reviews and it seems that the hosts are generally very hospitable, so I'm guessing there was just too much going on the day we arrived, but we were constantly made to feel like other people's questions took priority over ours.
The location is good and a short walking distance from the market and sights of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    83
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
217
503
51
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We changed our accommodation at the last minute to especially stay at Fernroyd House on the the recommendation of family. So happy we did. Tony and Avril were such delightful hosts and so very helpful in helping us plan the best thing to do in the area. Room and breakfast were both great and it was in walking distance of the town. Would love to go back to Cork one day.

Room Tip: Look at the reviews. They are the best guide I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hosts of this very professionally-run B&B are extremely charming and helpful, which I'm sure is a challenge because this is not a small operation. We stayed in the "annex" especially built to be a B&B - HUGE room, absolutely spotless. When we first arrived, our hostess dropped everything she was doing to get us oriented with maps and restaurant tips and all and sundry. Location-wise, this is thankfully located on a very quiet street, unlike the other nearby B & Bs. It's a bit of a hike into town, but down a very main street that is safe at any time of night. Very recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My Mom and I couldn't have been more thankful to have stayed at the Fernroyd B&B during our first night in Ireland - the hospitality, location, rooms and breakfast were all outstanding! The highlight of our stay was our time spent chatting with the wonderful family who runs the house - they gave us travel tips, shared stories, and gave us warm hugs upon our departure - our only regret was not staying longer! Don't pass this B&B up when traveling through Cork City! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGP13003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

they say its never the same when you go back in this case it is true,because was even better this time,last time we went with a group of lads, this time 2 returned with our wives and shown hospitality way above normal,irish breakfast has got even bigger & avrils scones are to die for.After a day sightseeing { tips from tony} its nice to come back to very clean quite rooms.my wife tells me we are going back again

Room Tip: book earley to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetheoneeyedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here just 1 night between Dublin and Killarney, and I wish we would have had more time here! The hosts are precious, gave us great restaurant (Strausburg Goose) and pub (Sin E) recommendations. They took time out of their busy morning to chat about life and help us plan an unforgettable driving route (thanks Tony!). The house is about 10-15 minutes walking distance along the river to the city center, very quiet with a comfortable room. It felt like we were staying with friends, and breakfast was excellent (I miss those scones!). All in all, great hosts, great location, great sleep quality, great food- what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: no bad rooms! we were on the second floor with a view of the garden in the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlrefro16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the 3rd of our 4 Ireland B&B's. The main house is very nice.
Tony welcomed us with a very warm Irish welcome, he then took us to another house with more rooms. The room was clean and very modern. It was nice not being in the main house, you felt that little more independent. Although we didn't use it, having the kitchen and sitting area down stairs was a good addition.
The breakfast options were many, they even had gluten free bread, thank you. You will not go away from Fernroyd House hungry.
Tony and Avril are really welcoming and really want you to enjoy every bit of Ireland what ever your plans are.
Great place to stay and great location, would stay here and and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,507 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,601 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Property: Fernroyd House B&B
Address: Fernroyd 4 O'Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing