We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel recently with two small children. Very nice clean hotel. Staff were very friendly, hotel very clean. The kids loved the glass lifts. The food was very good and it is a short walk from the Centre of Cork. Leisure Centre was lovely and clean.
Hot towels on arrival, and complimentry paper morning and evening. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable review. We are very pleased to hear that yourand your family enjoyed your time in our Hotel. Should you require further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,461
    678
    102
    46
    26
See reviews for
747
1,296
100
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed in the Jurys hotel for three nights. This hotel is lovely to stay in.When we checked in the staff were really nice. When we got to the room, it was really spacious, two double beds, bathroom with shower and bath. We called reception to get another bed because there were five of us.
On the first night we ordered Domino's Pizza to the hotel and just ate in the room on the first night because we were travelling most of the day.
They serve breakfast from 7.00 - 10.30 so we got up at around 9.00 and headed down to the restaurant. Very nicely laid out, they have everything from hot breakfast to cereals and the staff were really nice. On every floor beside the lifts they had ice machines so whenever you want ice for your drinks. The hotel has a conference room on the 1st floor where there are two computers that guests can use. There's also a executive lounge on the 5th floor.
On the first night we ate out in the city, the restaurant was closed because of the Jazz festival. We had a lovely meal in Gourmet Burger.
On the second night we ate in the restaurant, the staff were really nice, but some of the main courses weren't very good quality which was very disappointing but anyway.
The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym which you can get to by the 1st floor or go out the main exit and turn right.
As a day trip we went to a little town called Kinsale for lunch and it was very nice. We also went for a walk in Fitzgerald's park just down the road from the hotel. There's also a jail in the city that you you can have a tour around but we never got around to it.
I'd recommend this hotel for families and couples.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekellyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham U.K
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Despite the rain, the hotel proved a safe haven. Excellent facilities - loved the glass elevator. Staff were extremely attentive. One slight criticism would be the airport lounge feel of the restaurant / bar.Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansardtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We recently enjoyed a 5 night stay at Jurys Cork Hotel and I could not find a fault with it. Booked via Hotels.com and got a very good rate and well below the rack rate. From the reception, the restaurant, the bar and our room, everything was first class. We were primarily on a golf stay and the hotel staff were very accommodating in arranging a 6 seater cab or minibus for each day to get to the golf course. The drivers were only too happy ot leave a mobile number and return to collect us after our rounds. We enjoyed a day out at Cork Races (it's actually at Mallow, about 20 miles out of Cork) but again one of our trusted taxi drivers took us there and returned to pick us up.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and there is even a separate shower cubicle in the bathroom rather than one above the bath which is a much better scenario from someone that is well over 6' tall. The hotel is well positioned and a short five minute walk finds numerous pubs, bars and restaurants. A bit expensive but that is down to the pound/euro exchange rate and not an indictment on Cork itself.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merseygolfnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Jurys Hotel Western Road not to be confused with the harbourside Jurys, is a triumph of all a city hotel should be excellent service, ultra modern and spotlessly clean what more could you ask for (perhaps a better £ v Euro rate?) The cost for our one night for three adults sharing was Euro 129, this included an excellent buffet breakfast and free parking. (Drive past reception turn left and enter car park on right, retain tickets and present at reception for your free parking voucher)

Rooms are massive and contain two queen size doubles and still have acres of room to mill around, tea and coffee facilities, bar, safe, and are fully glass fronted above the river.
bathroom is equally impressive.

Cork is probably on the Monte Carlo scale for prices, so the 129 a night is a good rate and you get lots for it. Position is beautiful between the two rivers and you can sit and watch the water cascade over the weir as you have breakfast, only limitation for older or infirm people may be the distance from the city centre, it's about a ten minute walk (all flat)
When we return to Cork, this will be our first stop.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Firstly I should state that I did not like Cork one bit and would not recommend it to a friend as a short-break destination - I wish I'd gone back to Galway or stayed in one of the towns or villages around Cork. I could have stayed in Leicester and had the same experience around the city as I did in Cork - not that there's anything wrong with this (I'm not under the illusion that Ireland runs it cities for the benefit of tourists, trad music bars on every corner, etc) but what I got was not what I was looking for as a tourist. The hotel itself was good - a mid-4 star quality, aesthetically very nice, good location just out of the CBD but within easy walking distance, nice breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and areas, extremely comfortable bed, Nespesso machine in room, good parking facilities, etc. As such, I would recommend this hotel to a business traveller. However, there were areas that I was less enthusiastic about - the lavatory didn't flush properly every time and the rooms had no form of toilet brush (I'll leave the effects to your imagination)); my bath had a hole in the resin, halway down the tub; our room faced an adjacent apartment building - not a problem as such, however the hotel have conveniently provided a roller blind to add privacy. However, a way to roll the blind up and down would have helped - as it stood, I had to grab the roller and start manipulating it up and down to change the blind height; the room was smaller than I would expect and the window space could be more ideally utilised as a balcony. Overall my partner and I discussed how we would rate this hotel and I have to say we agreed on a 7/10 - but the 3 points lost could not have been regained without adding some balconies, a few extra feet to the room and relocating the hotel out of Cork, so if you MUST head to Cork I wouldn't let this put you off. The facilities, appearance and service at the hotel are all very good - I just didn't like driving through Baltimore, Skibbereen, Innishannon, Cobh and Blarney realising that I should have stayed there rather than in Cork city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_teaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuairiOConnor, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent review, and thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that Cork did not meet with expectations on this particular visit, and would hope that you could visit again during one of our many cultural or festive periods through the year.
please contact me directly at the hotel if i can be of any furhter assistance. best regards,
Ruairi O Connor, General Manager.
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I am only here in this hotel 3 hours so far and everything has been so good I feel I should be telling you all! It started with hot towels at reception after our long drive, then been given a complementry upgrade to an executive suite and then the view from the glass lifts. Really happy I have chosen this hotel for bringing my fiancee to for her birthday. Shes in the spa at the moment!!!! So far 5 star service. Dont have any doubts just book it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
710 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing