We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Stayed one night in the newly opened (at the time) Cork Hotel on Western Road. Great location and excellent secure underground parking, something which, unfortunately, is not the case for other Cork hotels. The design of the hotel was splendid, modern yet comfortable. The room was big, clean and modern with every possible convenience. However, it was the personal touches which made the trip enjoyable, for instance, there was no problem to leave the car in the car park over the allowed time.

If you want a quality hotel without worry, then this is for you.

Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thoughtsofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    678
    103
    46
    26
See reviews for
748
1,300
100
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Just back from a lovely stay in this hotel in Cork. I brought my other half here for valentines weekend.
Cork is a fab spot. I would def stay here again if I was to visit Cork again.
Rooms are big,clean and modern. Exec-Lounge is a great addition and a lovely thought. I was un-well for the weekend so we spent most of our time in this lounge and it was just like home from home. I could stare out the windows all day long...what a view.

I know it was valentines wkend.....but with a recession on and all that jazz they sure knew how to hike up the prices for the wkend!-Thought this was unfair as there was no form of compensation i.e in the form of a free drink in the bar/or glass of punch on arrival as it was valentines wkend!This would have been a nice gesture to guests who stayed for the weekend.

But, I still hope to return to this hotel in March and look forward to seeing a bit more of Cork too.

  • Liked — The King sized bed!
  • Disliked — Front desk staff!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayTravellingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuairiOConnor, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us in Cork, please contact me at the below email address or directly at the hotel and I will be happy to personaly arrange the best available rate and a complimentary upgrade to our Executive floor for your stay in March. kind regards, Ruairi O Connor, General Manager.
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety947
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We have just returned from a night in jurys hotel cork. The hotel is really nice great location and the rooms are fab. Stayed in room 211 on the second floor with a good view of cork and the rooms are huge their was 2 of us in the room and we had 2 big double beds and they were very comfortable, also the hotel has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. I used the pool which was very enjoyable but the only downfall is you have leave the hotel to go to the pool as its next door. The bar is very nice with loads of seating and a good smoking area and the staff were very friendly in the bar and at a checkin.

I would definitly recommend this hotel and i will be back.

  • Liked — Its location to patricks street and the free secure undergorund parking.
  • Disliked — Entrance to the leisure centre
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tweety947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuairiOConnor, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for your review and your kind comments,
please let us know when you are planning your return visit and we will be happy to offer a complimentary upgrade to our executive floor.
Kind regards for the present,
Ruairi O Connor, General Manager.
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

I stayed in jurys hotel in nov for my birthday with my partner and we had a great time. the staff were great and v friendly and the lesuire facilities were nice too. I didnt get to have a meal in the hotel resturant however as it was fully booked & i was a little annoyed that no one had mentioned to me that it must be booked in advance. The rooms in the hotel were fab & v spacious, although there was no view from the window to anything. i didnt really mind that but if your someone who likes views be sure to let them know when your booking. overall had a good time its a nice hotel and only a few mins walk from the city.

  • Liked — the atmosphere is relaxing & content
  • Disliked — the fact that the staff didnt tell me to book the resturant, they were nice other than that!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilpea09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuairiOConnor, general Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, February 16, 2009
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for sharing your positive experiences. please let me know directly when you are next visiting Cork and i will be happy to personally arrange your dinner reservation and that you recieve one of our Executive floor rooms, with exceptional views over the Cork city landscape.
best wishes,
Ruairi O Connor, General Manager.
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

Stayed here for business, staff exceptionally capable and friendly. Rooms big, great views.
Planning to stay here again when im back next month.

  • Liked — great room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Turasoirglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed here for one night in December and absolutely loved it.
It was our second visit to this hotel, during our previous stay the leisure centre was only under construction. As someone who uses pools and gyms a lot I was very impressed with the facilities here. The changing rooms are lovely and the gym itself is big for a hotel gym.
The hotel rooms are spacious and warm and the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was lovely and powerful.
The location of this hotel is absolutely ideal, it is a mere 5 minute walk to the main shopping street and there is plenty of free parking.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mkk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

Excellent hotel with a great view of the Lee. The gym/steamrrom facilities were top of the range. I found the prices, both for accommodation and food very expensive but it is a good quality hotel. The breakfast was top class. Again, at nearly Euro18 you would expect more than a slice of toast. Good hotel.

  • Liked — Gym
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs08262014e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing