We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

this was my 2nd stay. Great Hotel the staff really make and effort and it shows that managers here have a clear sense of direction where they are taking the Hotel. Its very clean and there is good attention to detail. Carpets have been changed since my last visit. Room view was not great to the back of the hotel, however the Room was very clean, very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Robert N,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kinds comments regarding our managers and staff. We do take a lot of pride in our establishment and we thank you for your feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back a 3rd time to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,503
    685
    104
    46
    26
See reviews for
755
1,318
103
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

If you're planning on staying in Cork city I'd highly recommend the River Lee hotel (previously Jury's Hotel). A very modern hotel with lovely rooms and a great leisure centre. Within walking distance of the city centre. The staff here have definitely upped their game in the last eight months and are friendly and efficient. I had bad experiences with the restaurant and bar staff in the past....but that seems to be a thing of the past now. Can be pricey at weekends but definitely worth it if you can get it for €120 per night during the week!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Kevin C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for one night on March 15th. The hotel and modern and newly rennovated. Super clean. Nicely located a short walk to city center. Comfortable bed and it's worth it to get the deluxe rooms for the view, king size bed, and access to lounge with refreshments throughout the day. Melanie (i hope I remember correctly...maybe Maureen) checked us in. We were tired from a long flight and she asked house keeping to make our room right away so that we may check in early. Much appreciated. Breakfast had great selections and a bargain if you purchase vouchers from the front desk ahead of time. Nice start to great Irish hospitality holiday...second to none.

Room Tip: Deluxe king rooms have great views and access to executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThuanMTran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear micahtran,

Thank you for taking the time for posting your wonderful review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Melanie joins me in thanking your for your kind comments and we are delighted we were able to make your arrival more relaxing after a long flight.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glo51278
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just stayed there for a friends 40th birthday the hotel was beautiful and modern . Staff were professional and friendly . The food in the restauranrt was amazing the duck salad starter was best I ever tasted. The breakfast was served until 11am which was fantastic unfortunately and to my horror I slept in the 1st morning(just shows u how quiet the rooms were) but I thoroughly enjoyed it the second day. The spread was nothing like I ever saw home made yogurts & mueslis the choice was just brilliant . We had swim and used jucuzzi facilities clean, modern and enjoyable. Would love To go back again soon maybe bother special occasion thanks for great wknd.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank glo51278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Glo51278,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our culinary delights and especially our wonderful breakfast!!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending one night in Cork during a recent trip to Ireland for the St. Patrick's Day Festival in Dublin. The River Lee Hotel was perfect for our brief visit to the city. We parked our car free of charge in the spacious garage next to the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Hotel guests also receive complimentary access to the gym next door which has nice equipment and a lovely pool area. The hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants, pubs, and bars all within walking distance. We walked to the English Market (a must see if you have the time), explored a bit of the shopping district, got cocktails at a cute little bar, and went to dinner at a fantastic vegetarian restaurant (Cafe Paradiso) just across the street from the hotel. The room was comfortable, modern, and clean. The hotel breakfast was very satisfying with hot and cold options and many delicious Irish baked goods. We especially enjoyed the scones and homemade peanut butter! We truly enjoyed Cork and hope to have the opportunity to return to the River Lee Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudoepossivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Tudoepossivel,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and you had an opportunity to explore the city.
I will be sure to pass on your kind comments regarding our scones and peanut butter to our Head Chef and im sure he will join me in thanking you.

We hope to see you back again at The River Lee hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Best hotel experience ever! The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. This is my 2nd stay there, I had high expectations considering the great 1st experience I had. This time again, the hotel did more than meeting them!
The food is very good. The room was more than confortable: I have been upgraded the 2 times I went to this hotel without asking

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank N. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear N.M

Thank you for posting your wonderful review regarding your stays at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted to read we reach your high expectations and hope to continue to do so. Its wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with is and I will certainly pass on your feedback to everyone.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again to The River Lee Hotel in the near future

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Spent a night there recently, very central with plenty of (underground) but free parking. Great choice for breakfast and very helpful & friendly staff in restaurant. Took the name of a very respectful and hard-working young guy in the restaurant but I'm afraid I've forgotten it apologies - young & tall, dark haired. Even the chef refilling the eggs went out of his way to salute and smile.
Only complain is that while the bedroom had 2 queen beds it wasn't the most comfortable for 2 people. The bed nearer the bathroom tended to drop towards the middle. We would have preferred a bed with a single king bed. Also, the bedroom could do with a decent single light in the centre of the room - a problem shared with their sister hotel at Croke Park.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room with a King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Tadgh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted to read you had a relaxing time here with us and I will be sure to to pass your kind comments to our Food and Beveage Team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back here again

Kind regards,
Ruairi o'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing