We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River Lee
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$378
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
$230
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel(Glanmire)(Great Value!)
$140
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,789)
Filter reviews
3,790 results
Traveler rating
2,824
769
120
50
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,824
769
120
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeweir bargreat hotelcity centrefifth floormodern hotelenglish marketloved this hotelhotel bartop classbar foodwould highly recommend this hotelcar parkchecking outbreakfast was excellentenjoyable stayyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
2,502 - 2,507 of 3,790 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

In Cork to visit our daughter studying at the University College Cork for the semester. Double bonus - Cork Guinness Jazz Festival and the River Lee. I chose this hotel because of the convenient location between the City Centre and the University. We walked everywhere that weekend and felt like we had arrived home in our hotel every evening. The staff was fabulous, the rooms were fantastic (quiet, clean and comfortable) and the real bonus were the musicians playing right in our Hotel. We had a fabulous time!

Room Tip: The Executive floor is worth it - with access to a lounge, coffee, tea and refreshments.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear JoanK,

Its always a pleasure to have the parents of UCC students here at the River Lee Hotel. Its almost feels like we too take part in their journey through college.
We are touched by your words and to hear you say that staying here feels like 'arriving home each evening' means the world to us.
We will be sure to share your review with the staff at the Hotel, as we know everyone will be moved by your message.
Again we are so pleased to here from you, and look forward to welcoming you home again soon.
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

3rd hotel in 2 days for 3 lads on a stag. Booted out of Sheila's wrongly and then got our 2 days cut short in the Commons Hotel due to overbooking. Went for River Lee just to get a good sleep after getting messed about. Was not disappointed. I would come back here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pestilence182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Pestilence182,

We are delighted to hear you had a relaxing stay here at the River Lee Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The River Lee Hotel in Cork, Ireland was very nice and our coach tour stayed there one night. The bed was better than what we had in Dublin but was still pretty soft for my wife and me. If the bed had not been so soft I would have easily given this hotel a 5 rating. The room was modern, clean, and nice. As in much of Europe, there were no wash cloths as preferred by Americans. However, we were prepared for that by having read such information online before leaving on our trip. We opted to "go European" and leave our personal wash cloths at home.

Our room faced the street and river. There was no traffic noise and the view was nice but not spectacular.

Dinner was good and very nicely presented. The tables were nicely dressed and the seating comfortable. Breakfast was the best we had during our two weeks in Ireland. It was the most varied and very good, just about anything one could want from a full buffet including fresh fruit, cereals, meats, eggs, pastries, and much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear kllks,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the very high standards and the quality and comfort of our interior furnishings and we appreciated your feedback regarding the beds.
Its very flattering to hear that our breakfast was the best you have had during your time in Ireland. We are really very proud of the wide variety of food available to our guests.
Again thank you for your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back to The River Lee Hotel again.
Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

On Sunday October 13, 2013 we checked into the River Lee Hotel. We were doing an independent tour of Ireland with hotels and car as part of our package deal. Wonderful Hotel - definitely a true 4 star hotel. The River Lee Hotel offers complimentary underground guest car parking.

Greeted by reception, our rooms were already assigned and keys were on a small table in the lobby. We were given a river view room with a beautiful U shaped window (two sides of the window were able to be opened.

Our room has 2 full/queen beds, lots of storage, small refrigerator in a lower closet shelf with 2 bottles of complimentary water. Safe, ice bucket & glasses, tea/coffee in-room setup, Pants press, iron & board. Two chairs, small table, desk, computer hook-up, hairdryer in drawer under TV. Bath had tub and a separate shower, washcloths provided.

You needed room key to go up on the elevator (great safety feature) also needed a room key to keep lights on in the room. Beautifully decorated, pool and work-out room.

Buffet Breakfast: Monday – Friday 6:30 - 10:30. Typical full Irish Breakfast with scrambled eggs, rashers (bacon), bangers (sausage), baked fresh tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, white pudding, black pudding, fresh fruit, brown bread, or toast, or scones, with a bit of butter and marmalade. Juice, a pot of tea or freshly brewed coffee. But they would also make fresh omelets or pancakes if you asked at the hot station. Plus, they had my favorite pastry - croissants with rods of warm, rich chocolate. One of the best breakfasts we had on the whole tour!

Nice touch was when we checked out - they offered us each another complimentary bottle of cold water

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the River Lee and it was very quiet.Top floor #5 has king beds, but more $$$$.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear magic_carpets,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You have really captured what we are about in your kind review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are only sorry it was not longer- but perhaps next time!.
We truly are delighted that you appreciated all the little features we offer here at the River Lee Hotel eg. complimentary papers, bottles of water on check out, free parking, excellent security features through out the hotel.
We would love to see you back here again at another time and again thanks for taking the time to review us so positively,
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times and have never been disappointed with cleanliness, food, friendliness of staff and it's only a ten min walk from city centre. We book a family room and it is very spacious. There is free internet access tv with various channels to entertain us as a family. Anytime we come to Cork we always book the River Lee Hotel and we will defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear antomgt,

Welcome back and Thank You!
We are delighted you have enjoyed another stay here at The River Lee Hotel. Our return guests are the proof of our quality and high standards and we are delighted to be able to say we have many valued and loyal guests.
Hope to see you back here again real soon
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews