We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd Hotel on Our Way Around Ireland - Stayed 1 Night - Wish It Had Been Longer”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Crossville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Hotel on Our Way Around Ireland - Stayed 1 Night - Wish It Had Been Longer”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

On Sunday October 13, 2013 we checked into the River Lee Hotel. We were doing an independent tour of Ireland with hotels and car as part of our package deal. Wonderful Hotel - definitely a true 4 star hotel. The River Lee Hotel offers complimentary underground guest car parking.

Greeted by reception, our rooms were already assigned and keys were on a small table in the lobby. We were given a river view room with a beautiful U shaped window (two sides of the window were able to be opened.

Our room has 2 full/queen beds, lots of storage, small refrigerator in a lower closet shelf with 2 bottles of complimentary water. Safe, ice bucket & glasses, tea/coffee in-room setup, Pants press, iron & board. Two chairs, small table, desk, computer hook-up, hairdryer in drawer under TV. Bath had tub and a separate shower, washcloths provided.

You needed room key to go up on the elevator (great safety feature) also needed a room key to keep lights on in the room. Beautifully decorated, pool and work-out room.

Buffet Breakfast: Monday – Friday 6:30 - 10:30. Typical full Irish Breakfast with scrambled eggs, rashers (bacon), bangers (sausage), baked fresh tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, white pudding, black pudding, fresh fruit, brown bread, or toast, or scones, with a bit of butter and marmalade. Juice, a pot of tea or freshly brewed coffee. But they would also make fresh omelets or pancakes if you asked at the hot station. Plus, they had my favorite pastry - croissants with rods of warm, rich chocolate. One of the best breakfasts we had on the whole tour!

Nice touch was when we checked out - they offered us each another complimentary bottle of cold water

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the River Lee and it was very quiet.Top floor #5 has king beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear magic_carpets,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You have really captured what we are about in your kind review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are only sorry it was not longer- but perhaps next time!.
We truly are delighted that you appreciated all the little features we offer here at the River Lee Hotel eg. complimentary papers, bottles of water on check out, free parking, excellent security features through out the hotel.
We would love to see you back here again at another time and again thanks for taking the time to review us so positively,
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,613
    711
    110
    46
    27
See reviews for
796
1,380
108
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times and have never been disappointed with cleanliness, food, friendliness of staff and it's only a ten min walk from city centre. We book a family room and it is very spacious. There is free internet access tv with various channels to entertain us as a family. Anytime we come to Cork we always book the River Lee Hotel and we will defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antomgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear antomgt,

Welcome back and Thank You!
We are delighted you have enjoyed another stay here at The River Lee Hotel. Our return guests are the proof of our quality and high standards and we are delighted to be able to say we have many valued and loyal guests.
Hope to see you back here again real soon
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at this place to attend a conference. Our room was located on the 5th floor. The room was very spacious, equipped with a large and very comfortable bed, as desk, chair and sidetable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room was equipped with a coffeemaker ironing board mini fridge. Breakfast in the restaurant offered a wide choice of juices, hot and cold foods including the obligatory full English breakfast. Coffee was served as normal or cappuccino, or you could order your breakfast tea. The expression spoiled for choice definitely applies here. All in all a very positive experience. The hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear bpo-spam,

Thank so much for your lovely review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves - you have managed to capture in a few lines what we have to offer- Executive floor, great location, friendly staff and modern comfortable bedrooms.
Its always a pleasure for us to read the wonderful comments regarding our breakfast and I'm glad you enjoyed a fantastic start to your day.
Again thank you for your kind feedback and I hope to welcome you back here again soon
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just back from a one night stay in the River Lee hotel. We were delighted to get an early check in so dropped up the bags before heading off for a stroll to the city centre. The location is fantastic as it takes seven or eight minutes to get to Patrick Street. Agree with all the other reviewers as the rooms are very comfortable with great beds. We had a great view overlooking the river. Our experience was soured that night however when the guests next door turned up the volume on their TV as we were preparing for bed. We managed to fall asleep but at 2.30am the noise again woke us. Increasingly frustrated we contacted reception who dealt with the matter promptly. The breakfast was fantastic in the morning which helped to make up for the troubled sleep and it was just unfortunate that our inconsiderate neighbours left us with us mixed views of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmax2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Schmax2007,

Thank you! our guests often comment on the friendly welcoming feeling on arrival and indeed throughout the hotel and in the main, we have our staff to thank for this, along with our warm inviting décor in the bedrooms and public areas.
I am sorry to hear you experienced noise issues with your neighbours but I am pleased to hear that our staff were on hand to resolve the issue quickly.
Again thank you for your kind words and I do hope to welcome you back here again in the very near future.
kind regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Saturday the 19th of October and i have to say it was the most pleasant stay i have ever had in my entire life. When we arrived we where told that we could be upgraded to an executive suite on the fifth floor and we where absolutely ecstatic about this! When we went up to the room we could not believe our eyes it was absolutely beautiful overly large with beautiful decor && there was everything you could need in one room :) We also had complimentary access to the executive lounge, which is a beautiful room to relax and unwind in it has complimentary fruit juice and bottles of water and cakes and fruit in the room with a coffee machine if you want the usual lattes, ho t chocolate etc. The room has an absolutely beautiful view over the river and at night time the view is absolutely breathtaking ! We decided to dine in the bar that night and the service was beyond impeccable ever single person that served us was friendly && efficient! The food was completely scrumptious !! We relaxed away for the night in the hotel && i must say i had an absolutely wonderful sleep the bed was massive && beyond comfortable :) When morning came we had breakfast delivered to the room and the man who delivered it was once again polite and efficient. The breakfast was most definitely the best hotel breakfast i ever had it was divine !! We where definitely very sad to leave that morning after such a wonderful stay and we will 100% be staying again in January for my birthday !! All in all the stay was the best i have ever had and the staff really made it wonderful .. i cant sing there praises enough they really out do themselves ! I wont consider staying anywhere else but here when i am in Cork !!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sayyyyyy,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, you really have covered all the bases! We are delighted you enjoyed your upgrade on check in. I truly appreciate your recommendation's and that you are looking forward to returning to us again if you find yourself in Cork City again.
Again thank you again for your wonderful review and I really am looking forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend back here again.
kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just back from my second stay in The River Lee hotel and I can't sing it's praises enough. Great rooms, excellent food especially the breakfast, and friendly welcoming staff throughout.This was Jazz Festival weekend and regardless of how busy it was , everything was still excellent.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Cork. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Derek 148,

Thank you again for your wonderful review- it really is fantastic to see our guests coming back again. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that you had the opportunity to experience the Jazz Festival.
I do hope to see you back here again in the not too distant future
kind regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The staff is what is truly so amazing...of course the hotel is gorgeous and modern and IMMACULATE...but the staff is truly the most lovely team I have ever come across. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and I cam down with the worst flu. I had to go to a doctor and the staff sent me across the street to Dr. Con who turned out to be brilliant. I was so sad about missing out on our days in Cork, but the ladies told me that if we were leaving cork to keep traveling we had to go to Inchydonney Island and told us of a resort to stay in... so we booked it and they staff must have called ahead for us because the Inchydonney resort already upgraded us to the honeymoon suite... I will love Cork with all of my heart because of the fantastic team at this hotel...and god willing one day my husband and I will go back and enjoy the city itself!

Room Tip: All are great...staying on the business floor entitles you to use the complimentary "library&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellygevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear kellygevents,
Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you had such a fabulous stay with us. Our staff are our best asset in the hotel. We have a fantastic team that go out of their way to ensure that all of our guest shave a memorable and luxurious stay with us. When you are away from home in a foreign place and find yourself ill, there us nothing worse than not knowing where to get help but our team is more than willing to help immediately to ensure you can be seen to and get back to enjoying your holiday as quick as possible and experience all Ireland has to offer!
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,601 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing