We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They say it is only 4 stars - but 5 in mine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
361 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“They say it is only 4 stars - but 5 in mine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were told that the River Lee was a business hotel not of the same level as our last hotel. I am connected to internet in my room with a semi-nice view. Excellent breakfast. Staff has been very good, housekeeping followed some notes we left out, air conditioning is room adjustable. If we are in Cork again we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear travelsbyrail,
Thank you for taking to the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Accommodation team are meticulous when it comes to the upkeep and cleanliness of all of our rooms. They all have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city such as the hills of the north side, UCC Gates and also the steeples of St Finbarr's Cathedral which is stunning in the evening all lit up.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guest when they are due to stay with us again so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,443
    669
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
737
1,288
99
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this excellent Hotel. All staff were pleasant, helpful and prepared to assist during our stay. A good range of food was on offer for breakfast. Bar meals were excellent with a good menu. We used the restaurant and found the food and service to of a high standard. Our room and the rest of the hotel was immaculate throughout. An added bonus was the free underground parking with direct access to the hotel using a lift.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Alex F,
Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised some amazing menus in our Weir Bar & Bistro. They have just recently launched the new season Weir Bar Menu. It some fantastic culinary delights such as our Cork Reuben's Sandwich which is Cork's Famous Spiced Beef from O'Connell's with Emmental Cheese and other delicious toppings making it mouth watering and full of flavours.
I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I traveled to Cork for business and stayed here for a week. I've stayed in hotels in Europe before and have found them lacking in amenities when in the same price range as The River Lee. I was pleasantly surprised with my stay. The reasons I would stay here again and recommend this to anybody:

Location- Each night as I was done with work I would come back to my hotel and then walk to downtown (5 min) for dinner at any number of nice restaurants.

Fitness Center - There is a club next door that all patrons of the hotel have access to. The sauna and pool are great and the gym is good; the equipment is a little older but sufficient.

Breakfast - Best breakfast selection I have had in any stay at a hotel. You will find a large spread for any taste or diet.

Staff - The service was prompt and always with a smile. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous.

If ever in Cork again, I will plan on staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor facing the river; there's a decent view of Cork.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddogmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear maddogmadsen,
Thank you for taking to the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in the city with an amazing array of food available on our buffet. We have a wonderful selection of fresh fruit and cereals along with the hot breakfast. Our very friendly chefs are also on hand to make guests anything extra that you would like such as pancakes, omelettes and fresh fish delivered in each morning. We also have a fabulous selection of gluten free items available on our buffet.
NRG Health & Fitness have an amazing gym and 22m swimming pool available for guests to enjoy. they also have a steam room, sauna & jacuzzi. Guests can also attend classes that they run on a daily basis including zumba, pilates & spinning.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were on a tour and this was the most beautiful and gracious hotel in which we stayed. Everything was perfect from the service to the room to the food to the ambiance. We will stay there again if ever in Cork.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth K,
Many thanks for taking the time to share such lovely thoughts of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel are very Proud of the service we provide to all of our guests. Because every guest is unique, we create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement to ensure all guests have a memorable & luxurious stay with us.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located about a fifteen minute walk from the city centre. A great stay you will not be disappointed.

Cons.
Breakfast.
nespresso machine at room.
lounge at top floor.
free wifi

Bad.
nothing

Room Tip: river view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank el-Masri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear el-Masri2013,
Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. These are quite special with King Size Bed, bathrobes, slippers and Nespresso machine in each room. Guests also have complimentary use of the Executive Lounge which serves tea/coffee/ juices & pastries throughout the day. It's a lovely lounge overlooking the river with a wonderful selection of books for guests to sit and relax.
Our team here at the hotel are our best asset. We are all very Proud of the service we provide to our guests. Because every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement. I have passed on your comments to the team and they were delighted to receive them.
I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the note too distant future.
Why not join us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a superb hotel with large bright clean rooms. We had two queen sized extremely comfortable beds in our double room. The bathroom had a large shower and a bath. The buffet breakfast had everything you could possibly think of on offer! I enjoyed the spa, but it was always quite busy when I went. Free parking was very well organised in a huge car park under the hotel. We stayed 4 nights, but didn't have our evening meals there because there were lots of small, good restaurants nearby. Staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Maggie B,
Thank you for taking to the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Accommodation team are meticulous when it comes to the upkeep and cleanliness of all of our rooms. They all have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city such as the hills of the north side, UCC Gates and also the steeples of St Finbarr's Cathedral which is stunning in the evening all lit up.
We offer complimentary car parking in our underground car park for all guests in the hotel. We also offer other little key touches such as the hot towel on arrival to freshen up after a long day at the office or a long trip and we also offer guests complimentary bottles of water when leaving the hotel to keep guest hydrated on a their day exploring as visitors or perhaps going to work for the day.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guest when they are due to stay with us again so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located about a fifteen minute walk from the city centre. A great stay you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a lovely window box which provides a great view across the town, as well as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Belle8888,
Thank you for taking to the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a mere 10 minute walk into the heart of Cork City. We are in walking distance of many local attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and The English market to name but a few. We are also within easy access to some of the main motorways in and out of the city leading to places such as Kinsale, Cobh and of course the beautiful West Cork.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guest when they are due to stay with us again so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing