We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just stayed as a family of 4 on the 4th floor (room 417) of River Lee hotel in Cork with River view and it was fantastic.We were booked in for 11 nights on a gourmet/birthday/anniversary break in Cork eating in a different restaurant every night.Our own hotel initially we had booked into restaurant in 1st week but so good we booked for a 2nd night too.Service throughout hotel,restaurant,bar and leisure facilities could not be faulted in any way.This is a 5 star hotel masquerading as a 4 star.In entire time of our stay had no issues at all and each day we were impressed a little more.

We spent an hour in the hotel pool every day which was clean modern efficient and most days between 2-3pm we virtually had the pool to ourselves.

Every day we able to watch a procession of swans,cormorants and herons on the river from our room and the floor to ceilings windows made views stunning and room bright.

The breakfasts which everybody raves about are without doubt best have ever tasted anywhere in the world.

After our stay we all very sorry to leave but have pledged that when we next stay in Cork there is no doubt at all that it will be the River Lee.Our kids who are canny seasoned travellers both said it was best holiday we ave ever had and in a major part that was down to our choice of hotel. Simply exceptional.

Room Tip: Could not fault 4th floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Steve C,
Many thanks for sharing such a lovely review of your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to read you and your family had such a great stay with us. Our Accommodation Team are very meticulous when it comes to the cleaning and comfort of the rooms and ensure they are cleaned and maintained to the highest standards. All of our rooms have panoramic views of different areas of the city such as the hills of the North Side, UCC Gates and also St. Finbarr's Cathedral which is amazing in the evenings all lit up.We also have a wonderful Lobby area in Reception with comfortable couches for guests to sit and relax whilst watching the swans playing in the river or reading one of our many books about Cork and surrounding areas.
Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette!
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,442
    669
    100
    46
    25
See reviews for
737
1,287
99
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked The River Lee Hotel as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday at the end of July. We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. It was my first time in Ireland and the first time in Cork for both of us. He was very impressed with my choice! He particularly commented on the wide selection at breakfast which was great, especially the gluten free options and having something for everyone. The service was excellent and a special mention to Conor for taking good care of us! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they were all very helpful. We would definitely come back to Cork and certainly stay at The River Lee. I'm really glad I chose it for him and we both had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the executive rooms and, although I didn't see the other rooms, it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Lisa Z,
Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette! We are very eager to ensure that all guests have a hearty breakfast to start their day and do our utmost to ensure all dietary needs are catered for. We have a wonderful selection of gluten free items available on our breakfast and all of our menus such as gluten free sausages, muffins & cereals to name but a few.
I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

ok so i stayed at this hotel executive level which is supposed to be the best.. the grounds of the hotel and the reception is of a very high standard as were the receptionists,the executive level however was not,first of all was the room which was as big as a lower priced room,in other words no difference...the window was 3 ft wide and no view except for where they keep all the empty bottles from the pub and other stuff,there was a weird fishy smell in there room aswell which i think was either the cleaning product they use or the air con,the lounge was just a big room with chairs,the coffee machine didnt have coffee only hot chocolate,there was a biscuit jar so no pastries or scones there but all of this didnt turn me off as much as seeing vomit on the floor in the hallway,the ice machine not working was just the last straw so thanks for reading (ps) i hope the manager of this hotel fixes these things instead of giving the same [--] reply he gives everybody else on the thing about how the doyle collection strive for excellence because if they did i wouldn't have to write this review

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Qaz2013,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am very disappointed to read your review. I would be very grateful to you if you could contact me directly at r_oconnor@doylecollection.com to discuss the issues which you experienced. I take all of the reviews we get very seriously as it is through comments like yours we can ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience whilst stying with us. I have shared your comments with the rest of our team to ensure the issues you have informed me of are followed up on and resolved immediately.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and it is very well located and just a short stroll to the centre of Cork. We walked to all the things we wanted to see. We ate in the hotel the first night in the bar and food was good. The pool was easy to access. If I was going to Cork again, I would book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windybottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Windybottom,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few. We are also within easy access to Blarney Castle, Kinsale & Cobh.
Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have put together amazing menus with outstanding dishes being served to all our guests to enjoy. All of our food is sourced from the freshest and local producers. We have an amazing array of dishes available with mouth watering flavours such as Poached Fillet of Monkfish with a Dill Polenta Cake, Pickled Carrot & Pink Peppercorn Vinaigrette, Courgette & Sweet Potato Crisp.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

In the days of everything having a star rating, here's a Hotel that totally justifies its four stars. It has all the tick boxes that get the most mundane of hotels their four star rating, the Spa, the Gym, the Pamper suit etc., but the River Lee has the thing that others strive for, sheer class. Great attention to detail in every area ensures there are no disappointing aspects to the hotel. The public rooms and spaces, (there are lots around the hotel), are beautifully maintained and comfortable, as are the rooms, our family room for three was spacious with a great big bay window and wonderful twin double beds. With the great use of glass in the construction the whole building is very light and airy with a very relaxing feel, you can certainly kick back here.
The food without exception was exemplary, the kitchen is open plan and the Chef and his staff are very approachable and watchable, their cooking and presentation were of the highest order, breakfast, bar menu and main restaurant were all universally excellent, with great use of local in season ingredients. A visiting Chef from another part of the Doyle Group had taken his son fishing in Kinsale and promptly caught a huge amount of mackerel, it was brought back to the hotel and was on the menu that evening, from boat to table in less than four hours, and delicious they were too!. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, families, couples or individual business travellers, all can be accommodated in some style in this lovely modern hotel, where the staff are magnificent.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear peter_fowler,
Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We have some wonderful areas around the hotel for guests to relax in and enjoy reading a book from our library in the lobby or perhaps one of the local newspapers on one of the couches overlooking the river.
I am delighted you enjoyed your meal at the hotel. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised amazing menu's in both the Weir Bar and Weir Bistro using all local and freshly sourced ingredients. They help to ensure only the finest dishes are served to our guests with mouth watering flavours and textures.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow! So not what we expected in Cork but really happy about it. Beautiful room, great beds and amenities. Hoppin' upscale bar and beautiful restaurant. Super friendly staff willing to trot fresh towels up to us immediately. Easy access to the towns main attractions. Really pleased with our find!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Meadowmkr,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am glad to see you found our rooms so comfortable. Our Accommodation Team are very meticulous when it comes to the cleaning and comfort of the rooms and ensure they are cleaned and maintained to the highest standards. All of our rooms have panoramic views of different areas of the city such as the hills of the North Side, UCC Gates and also St. Finbarr's Cathedral which is amazing in the evenings all lit up.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed some of our key touches such has hot towel on arrival to freshen your hands and a lovely bottle of water to take with you on your journey home. We also offer all of our guests secure complimentary parking whilst staying in the hotel in our underground car park.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Flew to Cork for short stay and prebooked the hotel via internet. All precise on arrival and we were able to leave all of our luggage without any problem four hours prior to check in. Very pleasant staff throughout the hotel and all requests were dealt with immediately. Room was good size with great view towards Cork centre. Comfy beds, quiet rooms and comfortable bathroom. There were some signs of wear and tear in the bathroom however not enough to be a problem. Would recommend the hotel to others who wish to visit the area. Getting around was easy with a hire car and lots to see along the coast. Had a great time and will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BroseleyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear BroseleyPhil,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork.
We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few. We are also within easy access to Blarney Castle, Kinsale & Cobh.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing