We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best!!!”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of the best!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with my fiancé for two nights, package includes b&b and an evening meal. Wish we had extended out stay for an extra night! Upon check in we were upgraded to an executive room, from the moment we entered the hotel the staff could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. Our room was immaculate, everything was top class even the towels and robes were soft, like new, which I find is one thing that is hard to come across in a hotel obviously to be expected though as they have to be washes so often. But this hotel skimps on nothing. Food was lovely, breakfast was amazing, the only thing I could say is the cocktail list could be slightly extended... By investing in a blender to make daiquiris!! But that is just trivial. I honestly don't think I could fault this hotel even if I really tried. All in all we had a lovely stay for our anniversary and we will be retuenig again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sin29,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms- where you experienced our rooms with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.

Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.

We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,541
    694
    104
    47
    27
See reviews for
766
1,333
105
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really enjoyed my couple of nights at the River Lee. Its a classy Hotel, modern and built with style and quality. Rooms are excellent and large with great bed linens. Lovely bar too.

I'd definitely stay here again in Cork. Thought it was slightly too far out of town, but still an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Bax52,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to see you enjoyed the amenities here at the hotel. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork.

We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fantastic hotel, check-in was a breeze, very pleasantly surprised by hot cloths which were provided. Really comfortable bed and pillows, best sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Would love to know what type of pillows were in the rooms, they were very special. Service was amazing with very friendly staff. There was such a wonderful choice of breakfast, including coffee of every type. Wait staff couldnt do enough for us. Pool was pleasant however my only crib during my stay was that there were no specific childrens hours which makes it difficult to have a swim, this is a very minor thing though. I was also pleasantly taken aback during check out when bottles of ballygowan water were provided, very nice touch I felt. I can say with certainty that I will return to this hotel and it was a most enjoyable experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Dazman777,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed some of our key touches such has hot towel on arrival to freshen your hands and a lovely bottle of water to take with you on your journey home. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, a selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!


Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've just arrived back from the Fota Package at the River Lee and it was just wonderful,I requested a room for us(2 adults and 2 children) with a river view and that we got,big window overlooking the river and city,just wow.The service was super super attentive and the set dinner and brekkie the following morning was really really wonderful,fresh honeycomb !! and organic porridge,omelettes and french toast to order,yummy.After dinner the lovely waitress Yolanda brought my son out to feed the swans but they eluded them unfortunately,the thought definitely counts though.We had a great time in the lovely pool after breakfast and the pool attendant/gym guy was really nice explaining the facilities etc etc I would highly recommend this hotel it's comfortable,it's cool,the food is great and fairly priced but the staff are amazing,they are a credit to the hotel and I hope they appreciate them.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coleendelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Coleendelux,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start.

I have passed on your wonderful comments regarding Yolanda- she really is a fantastic asset to our team.I am happy to see you enjoyed the amenities here at the hotel and found our team to be very friendly. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork.

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful night at the River Lee Hotel. The staff was very welcoming, meals were great, the room was magnificent, and the fitness center was top notch. We stayed on the executive level, that offered a gorgeous view of the city. After a long 24+ hours of travel from the states, the executive lounge was a great way to perk up with water and tasty snacks. Our next trip will absolutely be back to Cork, and the River Lee Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear AKrescue,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments in regards to your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are indeed amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff-our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved the location and The excellent service! Deidre was so helpful at the front desk and gave us lots of helpful advice about what to do in Cork. The patio by the river was exquisite and the food was awesome! We had one issue with a running toilet that was repaired instantly. Thanks so much for a great holiday!
Diane, Kate, Sarah

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Diane S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork. I have passed on your lovely comments to Deirdre- she is a wonderful assist to our Front Desk Team.

I am please you enjoyed our culinary delights from the Weir Bar and you took full advantage our wonderful patio over looking the river.

I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having traveled around for 8 weeks in a variety of accommodation we are happy to recommend this hotel as the best we stayed in. Certainly, the facilities are excellent - clean, spacious, good food, good facilities, free car park, quality wifi - but then so are they in a lot of other hotels (except for the car park and wifi in too many cases). The difference is that the people who work in this hotel actually do make you feel welcome. Whether it is the charming check-in staff, the very friendly room service people or the very attentive and engaging folks that work in the bar and restaurant, they all make you feel like they're happy to have you in their hotel. It must be a Doyle Collection "thing" - the good folks at the Croke Park Hotel weren't far behind them. To top it all off, all this was achieved at an extremely reasonable cost! Our favourite. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear John G,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.

I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement.

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing