We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have had a great stay at The River Lee Hotel. Friendly staff in all positions. Helena at the front desk was especially helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Cork provides easy access to Blarney Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebonnethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Bluebonnethorn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork. I have passed on your comments to all of our team and they were thrilled to receive them, especially Helena.
We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few. We are also within easy access to Blarney Castle, Kinsale & Cobh.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,558)
There are newer reviews for The River Lee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,440 - 2,446 of 3,558 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked 1 night stay here for the National concert @ the Marquee.
They had a Marquee deal - B&B, taxi transfer, sharing platter and 2 drinks for €169.
It was a great stay.
The only downside for me was that the hotel was very warm - but the air-con in the room worked really well, and you can sit outside on the terrace for a drink.
Other than that, everything was very good - check-in & out was efficient, room was a decent size, clean and had a separate shower from the bath which you rarely see.
The hotel is only about 10 minutes walk to the city centre, and they have complimentary parking.
The included platter turned out to be very impressive, freshly cooked - fish cakes, duck spring roll, prawn & crab open sandwich and a tasty toasted ham & cheese morsel. (I expected some cocktail sausages and chicken wings or cold ham and cheese so was pleasantly surprised)
The highlight of the stay was breakfast in the morning - an excellent spread, probably the best breakfast of any hotel stay - fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, porridge, cereals, pastries, scones, jam, seeds, dried fruit, smoked salmon, cheeses and a full spread of fried breakfast. Even the pot of coffee was good!
And then complimentary bottles of cold water as we were checking out.
We really couldn't fault the place and the extra touches make all the difference. We would certainly return if we were staying in Cork again, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0utandAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Outandabout,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our many packages that we offer in the hotel such as The Marquee & Me package. The sharing board has a wonderful selection on it and is quite tasty for guests to enjoy. I also see that you liked some of our key features such as the warm towel on arrival to freshen your hands and the complimentary bottle of water on departure to keep our guests hydrated on their onward journey.
Our Breakfast is one of the best in Cork City. Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have devised an amazing array of wonderful culinary delights that are sure to help every guest get their day off to a great start. Our buffet consists of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries, selection of juices and of course the wonderful hot buffet. Our friendly chefs are also on hand to make any other requests such as pancakes or perhaps an omelette!
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The River Lee Hotel Cork in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again, so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just spent the weekend in the hotel a 50th birthday present from my sons. From the moment we entered the carpark to the time we left our every need was catered for. The check in was quick and hassle free and the staff were very friendly which could be said for every member of staff we encountered the whole weekend.We had one small problem in that the hair dryer in the room wasn't working and instead of sending up a new one the actually upgraded us to a better room.The hotel is only a short walk from the city centre and is ideal for a relaxing weekend with free use of the gym and swimming pool.Iwould have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Margaret M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few.
I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent a lovely night in the River Lee hotel. The service was very good and my husband and I were delighted to be given a free upgrade to the executive floor. Wit access to the executive lounge we were well watered and fed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARION H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Marion H,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to see you had the opportunity to avail of one of our Executive Rooms. There rooms are amazing with a Kingsize Bed, Bathrobes, Slippers and Nespresso Machine in all rooms. Guests also have complimentary access to the Executive Lounge where you can have tea, coffee, selection of juices, water and a variety of pastries served throughout the day. All of our rooms here in the hotel have floor to ceiling windows with panoramic views of different areas of the city.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we spent a couple of days here and really enjoyed it the staff were polite and friendly,food was excellent.we also went to fota wildlife as part of our deal and had a great time i would have no problem recommending this hotel and plan to return at sometime in the near future

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riksav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Riksav,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read you were able to avail of one of our amazing package deals such as the Fota Package which includes 1 or 2 nights bed and full Irish breakfast with dinner on 1 evening and entry into Fota Wildlife Park.
Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I have stayed here twice in 2 months and had the best time ever at the hotel the rooms are amazing the staff so helpful location brilliant food outstanding I have recommended it so many times to friends since we stayed there in April and may! My partner and I have definitely found our hotel of choice for when we visit cork again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade_d88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Jade_d88,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. Our main aim here at the hotel is to ensure that all guests enjoy a luxurious and memorable stay whilst visiting Cork.
We are a mere 7 minute walk into the heart of Cork City Centre where you will find great shops, restaurants & bars. We are also within walking distance of many wonderful attractions Cork has to offer such as The Crawford Art Gallery, St. Finbarr's Cathedral and Cork Old City Gaol to name but a few.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel!
Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff is probably best value, either reception, security and restaurant. Evening menu and breakfast were a-ma-zing!! It is definetely one of the best hotels in Cork I've stayed, highly recommended to any visitor! Gym/spa facilities are a superb complement for visitors

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear racercor,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel Cork.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here at the hotel is very Proud of the service we provide to guests. It is our main aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing stay and as every guest is unique, we try to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgement.
Our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan and his team have put together amazing menus with outstanding dishes being served to all our guests to enjoy. All of our food is sourced from the freshest and local producers. We have an amazing array of dishes available with mouth watering flavours such as Poached Fillet of Monkfish with a Dill Polenta Cake, Pickled Carrot & Pink Peppercorn Vinaigrette, Courgette & Sweet Potato Crisp.
I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
We love to hear from guests when they are due to stay with us again. so why not keep in touch with us on Facebook where you will find great offers and competitions for the hotel.
Kindest Regards
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,108 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $170 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing